托管与非托管钱包

profile pic
gingerbreadfork
·
1 min read

了解如何使用 Markdown 格式并可视化它们在我们的样式中的显示方式。

···

当谈到加密货币时,了解您所控制的内容有助于您更好地管理您的资产。 虽然您可以使用的钱包意味着您可以控制它包含的加密货币,这似乎很简单,但这并不总是严格的,情况可能会有一些细微差别。 如果您曾经使用过加密货币交易所,那么您很有可能使用过托管钱包,而且您可能没有完全意识到在此过程中放弃了什么。

什么是非托管钱包?

非托管钱包允许您在保持完全控制的同时管理您的加密货币。 非托管钱包的主要区别在于,您必须能够访问您的私钥(字母数字字符串)或助记符(12-24 个单词短语),才能真正自由地控制这个钱包。 你可能听过人们说,“不是你的钥匙,不是你的加密货币”,这就是为什么知道你使用的钱包是否真的是托管的很重要的核心。 如果您可以完全访问您的密钥,您就可以完全访问您的资金。

LocalCoinSwap 是为比特币、以太坊、Polkadot、Kusama 和几种基于 ERC-20 的代币提供非托管钱包的平台示例。 当您在平台上创建帐户时,记住您的密码很重要,因为它用于生成您的钱包。 平台只能检查您输入的密码是否正确,不能直接与密码进行匹配。 您的密码不会存储在平台上的任何地方,以确保只有您可以控制您的私钥并且钱包确实是非托管的。 这是通过客户端加密实现的,其中您的私钥仅在您的浏览器中处理,而不是在远程服务器中处理。 LocalCoinSwap 提供这些非托管钱包的唯一显着缺点是您的密码无法重置,因为您的密码未存储在平台上的任何位置。

使用托管钱包的缺点

  • 使用托管钱包时,第三方本质上控制着您的资金
  • 如果钱包提供商关闭,您将无法访问您的资金
  • 如果平台以某种方式限制您的帐户,您几乎没有追索权
  • 您不能使用您的私钥通过其他钱包访问您的资金
  • 持有您资金的平台的损失会直接影响您
  • 提款缓慢,他们可能需要手动批准或其他干预

如何使用非托管钱包开始投资比特币

第一次投资比特币绝对是您想要感到安全的时刻之一。 将您的资金投入到您可能不完全了解的加密货币等资产类别中绝对是一种让您感到格外谨慎的方式,这不一定是坏事。 使用非托管钱包确实会给你带来一些额外的要求,但这些要求相对简单,只需一点常识即可。 如果您可以在常规钱包中处理一些现金,那么您可能有能力安全地存放您的钥匙。

非托管钱包将为您提供私钥、助记种子或获取两者之一的方法;拥有此文件后,安全地存放它并像对待个人文件一样小心存放,这一点至关重要。 如果您无法访问您的私钥,您将无法控制您的资金,而在非托管钱包的情况下,没有它们就无法重新获得访问权限。 虽然这听起来可能令人担忧,但这主要是因为传统银行和其他形式的金融在我们的生活中扮演了强大的托管角色,但加密货币消除了对托管人的需求,而它所需要的只是对我们的关注代表你。

如果您希望在不信任托管人的情况下投资比特币,LocalCoinSwap 是一个很好的选择。 当托管人控制您的资金时,他们的错误通常会成为您的错误。 在世界的许多地方,我们已经看到银行挤兑等问题,这些问题将金融监管关系的危险带到了最前沿。 因此,当您开始投资加密货币时,为什么不通过控制您的资产进行更改来充分利用它们所能提供的力量。

非托管交易如何运作?

虽然非托管交易在某些类型的加密货币到加密货币交易中变得越来越普遍,但找到可用的加密货币入口(使用现金等传统资产进出加密货币的地方)并不常见。 您将能够找到一系列像 Uniswap 这样提供相对去信任化交易的去中心化交易所,但是找到一个可以从加密货币中套现和套现的地方可能要困难得多。 然而,就像 LocalCoinSwap 提供非托管钱包一样,它也提供非托管交易。 使用该平台,您可以使用智能合约和比特币脚本(公开且开放供审查)直接从您的非托管钱包进行交易,而永远不会让平台本身访问资金。 发生争议时,资金可以发放给一方或另一方,但平台无法取走资金;这在提供非托管交易环境时至关重要。

为什么托管钱包仍然很普遍

托管钱包在某些领域确实具有优势,这就是它们仍然很常见的原因。 首先,这些托管钱包允许进行内部交易,而不会产生与在真实钱包之间转移资金相关的链上成本。 使用托管钱包还消除了管理自己的密钥的需要。 像 Uniswap 这样的 DEX(去中心化交易所)之外的大多数订单簿风格的交易所通常只提供托管钱包。 您可能会注意到的最大缺点是通常需要固定的提款费用,并且会高于典型的链上交易。 由于管理冷热存储之间的资金所需的大量交易,托管钱包费用通常较高;这有助于通过将资金转移到更隔离的钱包中来减少资金的暴露,在这些钱包中它们不会面临平台可能面临的导致资金损失的错误或其他问题的风险。 速度是导致平台选择仅提供托管托管钱包的另一个常见因素。 许多中心化交易所鼓励用户进行大量交易,并且通过为用户提供托管钱包,可以在交易进行时动态调整余额。

谈谈你如何存储你的加密货币

虽然托管钱包在某些方面和某些平台上可能很方便,但了解您通过移交资金承担风险至关重要。 当您将存款存入托管钱包时,您就将责任交给其他人来为您管理。 在一天结束时,您是否同意这取决于您。 最重要的是了解您在做什么以及托管和非托管钱包和交易之间的区别。

如果您选择非托管钱包,您将始终保持对您的加密货币的控制权,这是一件强大的事情,也是加密货币必须提供的最显着的功能之一;为什么不利用它。

将新挖掘的文章直接发送到您的收件箱!
没有垃圾邮件,小指承诺!

Custodial vs. Non-Custodial Wallets

profile pic
gingerbreadfork
·
5 min read

Learn how to use markdown formatting and visualize how they appear with our styles.

···

When it comes to cryptocurrency, understanding what you are in control of helps you manage your assets better. While it may seem pretty straightforward that a wallet you can use means you have control over the cryptocurrency it contains, this isn't always strictly the case, and there can be some nuance to the situation. If you've ever used a cryptocurrency exchange, there's a good chance you have used a custodial wallet, and perhaps you weren't fully aware of what you were giving up in the process.

What is a Non-Custodial Wallet?

A non-custodial wallet allows you to manage your cryptocurrency while retaining complete control. The primary difference for a wallet to be non-custodial is that you must have access to your private keys (an alphanumeric string) or mnemonic (12-24 word phrase) to freely control this wallet in the truest sense of the word. You may have heard people saying, "not your keys, not your crypto," and this is at the core of why it's essential to know whether a wallet you are using is actually custodial or not. If you have full access to your keys, you have full access to your funds.

LocalCoinSwap is an example of a platform that provides non-custodial wallets for Bitcoin, Ethereum, Polkadot, Kusama, and several ERC-20 based tokens. When you create an account on the platform, it's important you remember your password, as this is used in the generation of your wallets. The platform can only check that you have entered the correct password, not matching it against the password directly. Your password isn’t stored anywhere on the platform to ensure that only you control your private keys and the wallets are indeed non-custodial. This is achieved through client-side encryption, where your private keys are only handled in your browser, not a remote server. The only significant downside to LocalCoinSwap providing these non-custodial wallets is that your password can't be reset as your password isn't stored anywhere on the platform.

The Drawbacks of Using Custodial Wallets

  • A third party is inherently controlling your funds when using managed wallets
  • If the wallet provider shuts down, you won't be able to access your funds
  • Should the platform restrict your account in some way, you have little recourse
  • You cannot use your private key to access your funds with other wallets
  • Losses by the platform holding your funds can affect you directly
  • Slow withdrawals and they may need manual approval or other interventions

How to Start Investing in Bitcoin with a Non-Custodial Wallet

Investing in bitcoin for the first time is absolutely one of those moments where you want to feel safe and secure. Putting your money into an asset class like a cryptocurrency that you may not fully understand is definitely a way to make you feel a little extra cautious, which isn't necessarily bad. Using a non-custodial wallet does come with some additional requirements for you, but these are relatively simple to manage with a little common sense. If you can handle having some cash in your regular wallet, you likely have the ability to store your keys safely.

A non-custodial wallet will provide you with either a private key, mnemonic seed, or a way to get one of the two; once you have this, it's vital that you store it safely and with the same care you would personal documents. If you lose access to your private keys, you lose the ability to control your funds, and in the case of a non-custodial wallet, there is no way to regain access without them. While this may sound concerning, this is due primarily to the way that traditional banks and other forms of finance have taken a strong custodial role in our lives, but cryptocurrency removes the need for custodians, and all it requires in return is a little care on your behalf.

If you are looking to invest in bitcoin without trusting a custodian with your funds, LocalCoinSwap is an excellent option. When a custodian has control of your funds, often their mistakes can become yours. In many parts of the world, we've seen issues with things like bank runs which bring to the forefront the dangers of custodial relationships in finance. So when you start investing in cryptocurrencies, why not make the most of the power they can provide by being the one in control of your assets for a change.

How Does Non-Custodial Trading Work?

While non-custodial trading is becoming more common among some types of crypto-to-crypto trading, it's less common to find available cryptocurrency on-ramps (places to get in and out of crypto using traditional assets such as cash). You will be able to find a range of decentralized exchanges like Uniswap that offer relatively trustless trading, but finding a place to cash in and out of crypto is something that can be a lot more difficult. However, just as LocalCoinSwap offers non-custodial wallets, it also provides non-custodial trading. Using the platform, you can trade directly from your non-custodial wallets using smart contracts and bitcoin scripts (that are public and open for review) while never giving access to the funds to the platform itself. In the event of a dispute, the funds can be released to one party or the other, but it would not be possible for the platform to take the funds; this is crucial when providing a non-custodial trading environment.

Why Custodial Wallets are Still Common

Custodial wallets do have advantages in some areas, and this is why they are still common. Firstly, these managed wallets allow for internal transactions without the on-chain cost associated with moving funds between real wallets. Using a custodial wallet also removes the need to manage your own keys. Most order book style exchanges outside of DEXs (decentralized exchanges) like Uniswap typically only provide managed custodial wallets. The biggest downside here that you are likely to notice is that a fixed withdrawal fee is usually required, and it will be higher than the typical on-chain transaction. Custodial wallet fees are typically higher due to sweeping transactions which are required to manage funds between hot and cold storage; this helps reduce exposure of funds by moving them into more isolated wallets where they aren't at risk of bugs or other issues the platform could face resulting in a loss of funds. Speed is another common factor that leads to platforms opting only to provide managed custodial wallets. Many centralized exchanges encourage users to make a large volume of trades, and by providing a managed wallet for users, balances can be dynamically adjusted as trades are performed.

Have Your Say on How You Store Your Crypto

While custodial wallets can be convenient in some ways and on some platforms, it's vital to understand you are taking a risk by handing your funds over. When you make a deposit into a custodial wallet, you are giving the responsibility to someone else to manage them for you. It’s up to you at the end of the day whether you are okay with this or not. The most important thing is understanding what you are doing and the differences between custodial and non-custodial wallets and trading.

If you opt for a non-custodial wallet, you retain control of your cryptocurrency at all times, this is a powerful thing and one of the most remarkable features cryptocurrency has to offer; why not take advantage of it.

Get freshly mined articles straight to your inbox!
No spam, pinky promise!