稳定币简介

profile pic
gingerbreadfork
·
1 min read

了解如何在不离开加密货币市场的情况下存储价值并利用稳定币的力量。

···

近年来,稳定币已经撼动了加密货币世界。 这些数字资产提供了另一种存储价值的方式,而无需完全离开市场并将您的加密货币兑换成当地货币。

什么是稳定币?

稳定币是一种旨在通过以各种方式将自己与更稳定的法定货币或黄金甚至石油等资产挂钩的数字货币。 由于加密货币以波动性大而著称,因此在寻求存储价值时,由于价格波动而对变动的担忧较少,因此稳定币形成了避风港。 然而,虽然它们的价值相对而言保持相对稳定,但必须承认它们与价值本身相关的资产会发生变化,尽管与您可能习惯于视为比特币或山寨币交易者的情况相比,这种方式不那么激进。

流行的稳定币包括:

  • 系绳 (USDT)
  • 创客 DAI (DAI)
  • 美元硬币 (USDC)
  • 币安美元 (BUSD)
  • 双子座美元 (GUSD)
  • 真实美元 (TUSD)
  • Paxos 标准 (PAX)

稳定币如何保值?

每个项目的工作方式各不相同;然而,许多稳定币依赖于一种相对简单的抵押模型,用传统资产支持流通中的每个代币/硬币的价值。 有时,这些资产以挂钩资产本身的形式存在(例如美元)。 其他时候,这可能是其他传统投资(类似于银行的运作方式)。

其他稳定币采用更有趣的方法,例如来自 Maker 的 DAI,激励网络参与者保持与美元的相对挂钩。 要将 DAI 用作稳定币,您无需了解其工作原理,而这正是大量 DAI 用户使用代币所做的。 然而,那些更进一步的人可以通过使用一种称为“抵押债务头寸”(CDP)的东西来帮助维持钉住汇率,其中以太坊被用来提供抵押品,甚至被用作通过锁定 ETH 来获得 DAI 贷款的一种方式在 CDP 中。 如果您想了解更多关于 DAI 如何维持其挂钩的信息,有很多关于 DAI 如何工作精彩文章。

什么资产是稳定币的好选择?

我们不太可能看到某些货币的稳定币。 在某些地区,稳定币形成了一种越来越多的方式来逃避恶性通货膨胀和其他形式的经济不稳定的不确定性。 甚至黄金在稳定币领域也没有表现出强劲的表现,因为它本身是一种相对投机且波动较大的资产。 主要是被认为相对“安全”的大货币,例如美元 (USD)、欧元 (EUR) 或英镑 (GBP),使其成为更受欢迎的货币池。 然而,这似乎在逐年增长。

虽然对于加密货币世界的某些人来说,将法定货币谈论为“稳定”或“安全”资产似乎很可笑,但就目前而言,这些传统货币的优势是许多交易者找到一定程度的安慰并成为很好的工具的地方对于像汇款这样的事情,比特币和其他加密货币市场的浪潮可能会带来额外的风险。 从本质上讲,稳定币在加密货币和传统货币之间架起了一座桥梁。

安全地存储稳定币

目前最流行的稳定币在更大的成熟网络(如以太坊,或者最近的 Binance Smart Chain 或 Tron)上作为代币运行。 在这种情况下,通常,您可以将这些代币存储在既支持网络又支持您尝试存储的代币的钱包中。 对于以太坊上的那些 ERC-20 代币(例如 DAI), MetaMaskMyEtherWalletMyCrypto 可能是不错的选择,或者来自信誉良好的公司(例如 TrezorLedger的硬件钱包。

异国稳定币

正如我们之前提到的,并非所有稳定币都由法定货币支持。 存在其他替代方案,例如黄金支持的稳定币,包括珀斯铸币厂黄金代币 (PGMT)。 另一个例子是委内瑞拉政府于 2018 年推出的石油 (₽) 或 petromoneda,尽管存在各种道德问题。 石油币旨在与该国的石油生产挂钩。 尽管如此,在重大的国际关注和已经严厉的制裁之后,这个项目似乎注定要失败,而且基本上已经失败了。

稳定币的缺点是什么?

对于抵押支持的稳定币,有一个问题与众不同。 这种担忧在于您依赖第三方来提供和维护对您持有的稳定币的支持和信任。 当稳定币第一次开始抬头时,这是一个普遍的担忧,并且仍然存在。 然而,随着监管机构的兴趣增加,对此的监督也在增加。 尽管如此,无论何时您将第三方纳入您的财务状况,都值得考虑您对此是否感到自在。

简而言之,稳定币是一种工具,世界各地的加密货币交易者似乎越来越接受。 有多种选项可供选择,让您可以找到适合您需求的选项。 如果您正在寻找一些东西来减少您对许多加密货币有时极端波动的敞口,那么稳定币可能是一个很好的解决方案。

将新挖掘的文章直接发送到您的收件箱!
没有垃圾邮件,小指承诺!

Introduction to Stablecoins

profile pic
gingerbreadfork
·
4 min read

Learn how to store value without leaving the cryptocurrency market and leverage the power of stablecoins.

···

Stablecoins are something that has shaken up the cryptocurrency world in recent years. These digital assets provide an alternative way to store value without altogether leaving the market and exchanging your crypto into your local currency.

What is a Stablecoin?

Stablecoins are digital currencies that intend to be more stable by pegging themselves in various ways to more stable fiat currencies or assets like gold and even oil in one case. As cryptocurrencies are known for being quite volatile, stablecoins form a haven when looking to store value with lower concerns of movement due to price volatility. However, while they remain relatively steady in value comparatively, it’s essential to acknowledge that the assets they are tied to shift in value on their own, albeit in a less aggressive manner to what you may be used to seeing as a bitcoin or altcoin trader.

Popular Stablecoins Include:

  • Tether (USDT)
  • Maker DAI (DAI)
  • USD Coin (USDC)
  • Binance USD (BUSD)
  • Gemini Dollar (GUSD)
  • True USD (TUSD)
  • Paxos Standard (PAX)

How to Stablecoins Hold Value?

The way each project works varies; however, many stablecoins rely on a relatively simple collateralization model of backing the value of each token/coin in circulation with traditional assets. Sometimes these assets are in the form of the pegged asset itself (such as USD). Other times this could be other traditional investments (similar to how a bank operates).

Other stablecoins take a more interesting approach, such as DAI from Maker, where network participants are incentivized to maintain a relative peg to the US Dollar. To use DAI as a stablecoin, you don’t need to understand how this works, and this is what a large number of DAI users do simply use the token. However, those that take things a step further can profit from helping maintain the peg using something called “collateralized debt positions” (CDP), where ethereum is used to provide collateral or even used as a way to get a DAI loan by locking up ETH in a CDP. If you’d like to learn more about how DAI maintains its peg, there are many great articles on how DAI works.

What Assets Make a Good Choice for a Stablecoin?

It’s unlikely we’ll ever see stablecoins for some currencies. In some regions, stablecoins form a growing way to escape the uncertainty of hyper-inflation and other forms of economic instability. Even gold hasn’t made a strong showing in the stablecoin space, as it in itself is a relatively speculative and somewhat volatile asset. Primarily large currencies that are considered relatively “safe” such as the US Dollar (USD), Euro (EUR), or British Pound (GBP) make it into the more popular pools. However, this seems to be growing in variety year on year.

While to some in the crypto world, talking about a fiat currency as a “stable” or “safe” asset may seem laughable, for now, the strength of these conventional currencies is where many traders find some degree of comfort and make for great tools for things like remittance where the waves of the bitcoin and other cryptocurrency markets can introduce additional risk. At their core, stablecoins form a bridge between crypto and traditional currencies.

Storing Stablecoins Securely

Most currently popular stablecoins operate as tokens on larger established networks like ethereum, or more recently, Binance Smart Chain or Tron. With this being the case, typically, you can store these tokens in a wallet that both support the network and the token you are trying to store. In the case of those ERC-20 tokens on Ethereum (such as DAI), MetaMask, MyEtherWallet, or MyCrypto can be great options or a hardware wallet from a reputable company like Trezor or Ledger.

Exotic Stablecoins

As we touched on earlier, not all stablecoins are backed by fiat currencies. Other alternatives exist, such as gold-backed stablecoins, including the Perth Mint Gold Token (PGMT). Another example, though one that comes with various ethical concerns, is the petro (₽), or petromoneda, launched in 2018 by the government of Venezuela. The petro was intended to be tied to oil production in the country. Still, after significant international concerns and already heavy sanctions, this project seems to be doomed to fail and essentially has already.

What are the Drawbacks of Stablecoins?

For collateral-backed stablecoins, there’s one concern that stands out from the rest. This concern lies in the fact that you are relying on a third party to provide and maintain the backing and trust in the stablecoin you are holding. When stablecoins first began to rear their head, this was a common concern and one that still lingers. However, with increased interest from regulators, the oversight on this is increasing. Still, whenever you are bringing a third party into your finances, it’s well worth considering how comfortable you are with doing so.

In short, stablecoins are a tool cryptocurrency traders across the world seem to be embracing to a growing extent. There’s a range of options to choose from, allowing you to find one that fits your needs. If you’re looking for something to reduce your exposure to the sometimes extreme volatility of many cryptocurrencies, stablecoins can be an excellent solution.

Get freshly mined articles straight to your inbox!
No spam, pinky promise!