区块链初学者

profile pic
gingerbreadfork
·
1 min read

探索区块链这一现代技术,并找出它为何处于加密货币革命的最前沿。

···

当您想更熟悉加密货币或只是想更好地了解比特币的工作原理时,区块链是值得探索的核心概念之一。 虽然围绕数字货币的一些概念看起来很复杂,但只要稍微分解一下这个想法,任何人都可以理解区块链。

什么是区块链?

区块链通常被称为分布式账本技术 (DLT) 的一种形式,它看起来与传统数据库相似,但有一些关键区别。 使用大规模共识的多数力量,区块链可以确保所有网络参与者不仅保持诚实,而且高度激励这样做,这可能非常有效。 如果一个人可以控制验证网络中的所有交易,欺诈就很容易从裂缝中溜走,但是当有一大群人都在检查交易的有效性时,随着网络的发展,这变得更加困难。

区块链技术的好处

  • 提高透明度
  • 不变性(无法改变历史)
  • 更容易验证
  • 通过消除中介机构降低成本
  • 提高效率
  • 去中心化 & 分布式

私有区块链

随着传统行业对区块链技术的兴趣日益浓厚,私有区块链的话题也越来越频繁地出现。 然而,这个概念的问题(以及此类系统采用率极低的可能原因)是失去了 DLT 的许多好处。

可以说,私有区块链失去了使公共区块链如此有效的原因,而只剩下一个具有集中控制的传统数据库。 也许未来会开发出更好形式的混合区块链,但就目前而言,最感兴趣的是关注像比特币这样的公共区块链项目。

区块链安全

改变过去可能是传统金融交易的一个问题,但区块链技术可以帮助您避免这种情况。 随着区块被添加到链中,改变过去变得更加困难。 除了大多数网络就更改区块链达成共识之外,一旦收到一些确认,您就不可能还原或撤销交易。 网络越大,这变得越困难。

区块链的显着优势之一是其分布式特性。 如果您可以控制至少 51% 的网络,您就可以尝试在网络上推送您的真实版本,但对于更大的网络,由于涉及的成本和所需的资源,这将非常困难。 此外,即使您要更改分类帐的本地副本,您也必须让网络同意才能将其视为有效,这是您在正常情况下无法做到的。 此外,如果您要通过这种形式的攻击对区块链进行某种形式的剧烈更改,网络的其余部分可能会注意到并远离您,导致您的努力和费用白费。

区块链可以比集中式数据库安全得多,并且无需依赖单一事实点和单点故障。 缺乏去中心化是为什么在比特币出现之前,大多数创建数字货币形式的尝试都失败了。 创建一个基本的数字货币很简单;创造一种足够值得信赖并变得有用的东西是极其困难的,这就是为什么区块链使比特币和许多其他加密货币能够改变价值交换的方式。

使用区块链使您能够以不切实际或有时甚至不可能的方式进行交易、共享和交换。

区块链节点

节点是区块链的一个重要方面,因为它们确保分类账的副本广泛分布而不是集中。 能够比较笔记有助于保持网络诚实,这就是节点出现的地方。 如果您尝试操作只有一个节点的区块链,则会出现单点故障。

人们出于各种原因选择操作节点,这可以是验证自己的交易,但对许多人来说,它可以纯粹是为了支持网络。 在更铁杆的比特币爱好者中,在家中运行包含比特币区块链完整副本的完整节点是很常见的。 许多涉及使用区块链的平台都运行着自己的节点,这是我们在 LocalCoinSwap 所做的事情,以帮助确保我们为用户提供最安全的服务。 就区块链而言,完整性至关重要,而这正是区块链节点如此重要的核心所在。

发展区块链

虽然并非每个区块链都需要挖矿才能运行,但很多都需要;最著名的例子是比特币,它使用一种称为工作量证明的流行方法来挖掘区块并扩展链。 矿工被激励处理交易并将其包含在区块中以获得奖励。 在像比特币这样的区块链上挖矿涉及尝试在网络上的其他矿工之前找到复杂数学问题的解决方案,以便您可以获得块奖励。 这个奖励的多少会因不同的区块链而异。 然而,对于需要挖矿的区块链来说,获得奖励是非常一致的,因为激励矿工保护网络并发展链很重要,这样网络才能继续运行,区块链可以发挥作用。

一旦找到解决方案并挖掘出一个块,结果就可以传递到网络中的节点上。 如果节点通过满足网络规则认为它们有效,则该过程将重新开始,矿工开始尝试解决下一个块并将其添加到链中。 解决一个块需要大量的能量;通过这种方式,工作量证明区块链有效地使用消耗的能量(工作)作为保护区块链不被篡改的一种方式。 这种方法就是为什么支持区块链的网络越大,如果您希望尝试双花或以其他方式操纵链上数据,就越难对其进行攻击。

区块链用例

由于区块链的不可变性质,它们在存储容易被篡改的数据、管理交易、跟踪所有权等方面具有许多潜在用途。

使用区块链证明所有权的能力不仅带来了与抗审查形式的健全货币进行交易的能力。 尽管如此,它还开辟了从医疗领域到金融最利基领域的广泛潜力。 当您利用传统数据库的强大功能,但同时又添加了去中心化和不变性时,这就打开了大量的大门。 借助区块链,您可以使用比特币以相对较少的费用在短时间内向世界各地发送数百万美元的价值,能够拥有 NFT,或使用以太坊参与世界 DeFi(去中心化金融),区块链有很多值得爱的地方,并且它们的用例似乎只会随着时间的推移而扩展。

比特币使区块链成为一个逐渐进入主流范围的术语,但我们只看到了这项新技术潜力的一角。 了解区块链的基础知识是开始了解比特币和其他加密货币的旅程的好方法;查看我们的其他一些文章以了解更多信息!

将新挖掘的文章直接发送到您的收件箱!
没有垃圾邮件,小指承诺!

Blockchain for Beginners

profile pic
gingerbreadfork
·
5 min read

Explore the modern technology that is blockchain and find out why it's at the forefront of the cryptocurrency revolution.

···

Blockchains are one of the core concepts worth exploring when you want to get more familiar with cryptocurrencies or just trying to get a better understanding of how bitcoin works. While some of the concepts surrounding digital currencies can seem complex, blockchains are something that anyone can understand when the idea is broken down a little.

What is a Blockchain?

Frequently referred to as a form of Distributed Ledger Technology (DLT), a blockchain can appear similar to a traditional database but has some key differences. Using the power of majority at scale consensus, blockchains can ensure that all network participants don’t just remain honest but are highly incentivized to be so, which can be very effective. If one person was in control of verifying all the transactions in a network, fraud could very easily slip through the cracks, but when there’s an army of people all checking the transactions for validity, this gets much harder the more the network grows.

The Benefits of Blockchain Technology

  • Increased transparency
  • Immutability (unable to change history)
  • Easier verification
  • Reduced costs by removing intermediaries
  • Increased efficiency
  • Decentralized & distributed

Private Blockchains

As traditional industries have begun to take an increased interest in blockchain technology, the topic of private blockchains shows up more frequently. However, the problem with this concept (and the likely reason that uptake of such systems has been minimal) is that many of the benefits of DLT are lost.

Arguably a private blockchain loses what makes a public blockchain so effective and leaves little more than a traditional database with centralized control in its place. Perhaps better forms of hybrid blockchains will be developed in the future, but for now, most interest is following public blockchain projects like bitcoin.

Blockchain Security

Changing the past is something that can be a concern with traditional financial transactions, but this is something that blockchain technology can help you avoid. As blocks are added to the chain, it becomes more difficult to change the past. Outside of the majority of the network coming to a consensus on changing the blockchain, it’s improbable you’d be able to revert or reverse a transaction once it has received a few confirmations. The larger the network is, the more difficult this becomes.

One of the significant benefits of blockchains is their distributed nature. If you could take control of at least 51% of the network, you could attempt to push your version of the truth on the network, but again with larger networks, this would be incredibly difficult due to the costs involved and the resources required. Furthermore, even if you were to change your local copy of the ledger, you’d have to get the network to agree as well for it to be considered valid, something you’d be unable to do under normal circumstances. Also, if you were to pull off some form of drastic change to a blockchain via this form of attack, the rest of the network would likely notice and fork away from you, resulting in your efforts and expense being for nothing.

Blockchains can be far more secure than a centralized database, and there’s no need to rely on one sole point of truth and no single point of failure. The lack of decentralization is why before bitcoin, most attempts to create forms of digital money failed to get off the ground. It’s simple enough to create a rudimentary digital currency; it’s extremely difficult to create one trustworthy enough to become useful, which is why blockchain has enabled bitcoin and many other cryptocurrencies to shake up how it’s possible to exchange value.

Using a blockchain enables you to transact, share, and exchange in ways that otherwise would not be practical or sometimes even possible.

Blockchain Nodes

Nodes are an essential aspect of blockchains as they ensure that copies of the ledger are widely distributed and not centralized. Being able to compare notes is what helps keep the network honest, and this is where nodes come into the picture. If you were to try and operate a blockchain with only one node, you’d have a single point of failure.

People chose to operate nodes for a variety of reasons, this can be to verify your own transactions, but for many, it can be purely to support the network. It’s common among more hardcore bitcoiners to run a full node at home that contains a full copy of the bitcoin blockchain. Many platforms that involve the use of blockchains operate their own nodes, and this is something we do at LocalCoinSwap to help ensure we are providing the safest possible service to our users. Integrity is essential when it comes to blockchain, and this is at the heart of what makes blockchain nodes so important.

Growing a Blockchain

While not every blockchain requires mining to operate, many do; the most well-known example is bitcoin, which uses a popular approach called proof-of-work to mine blocks and extend the chain. Miners are incentivized to process transactions and include them in blocks to gain rewards. Mining on a blockchain like bitcoin involves trying to find the solution to complex mathematical problems before other miners on the network so that you can receive a block reward. How much this reward is will vary between different blockchains. However, having a reward is pretty consistent for blockchains that require mining, as it’s important to incentivize miners to secure the network and grow the chain so the network can continue to operate and the blockchain can be useful.

Once the solution is found and a block is mined, the results can be passed onto the nodes in the network. If the nodes consider them valid by meeting the network rules, the process simply starts again, and miners begin to try and solve the next block and add it to the chain. Solving a block requires a large amount of energy; in this way, proof-of-work blockchains effectively use expended energy (work) as a way to secure the blockchain from tampering. This approach is why the larger the network supporting a blockchain is, the harder it is to attack it if you wished to attempt a double spend or otherwise manipulate the on-chain data.

Use Cases for Blockchain

With the immutable nature of blockchains, they have many potential uses for storing data prone to tampering, managing transactions, tracking ownership, and much more.

The ability to prove ownership using a blockchain has led to not just the ability to transact with a censorship-resistant form of sound money. Still, it’s also opened up a vast range of potential from the medical field to the most niche areas of finance. When you take the power of a traditional database, but you also add decentralization and immutability, this opens up a huge amount of doors. With blockchains allowing you to send millions of dollars in value across the world in moments for comparatively minuscule fees using bitcoin, being able to own an NFT, or engage in the world DeFi (decentralized finance) using ethereum, there’s so much to love about blockchains, and the use cases for them only seem to be expanding with time.

Bitcoin made blockchain a term that is bursting into the scope of the mainstream, yet we’re only seeing the tip of the potential for this new technology. Understanding the basics of blockchain is a great way to get started on your journey to learn more about bitcoin and other cryptocurrencies; check out some of our other articles to learn more!

Get freshly mined articles straight to your inbox!
No spam, pinky promise!