什么是比特币?

profile pic
gingerbreadfork
·
1 min read

让我们来探讨一下比特币是什么,以及为什么这种形式的数字货币已成为一种驱动力,并围绕它打造了整个行业。

···

自 2008 年首次发布以来,比特币激励着全世界的人们开始更多地控制他们交换价值和储存财富的方式。 让我们探索它是什么以及为什么这种形式的数字货币成为如此强大的驱动力并围绕它打造了整个行业。

比特币的起源

比特币是第一个真正开始流行的加密货币。 虽然之前有一些项目,但这些主要是利基和实验性质的。 域 bitcoin.org 于 2008 年 8 月 18 日首次注册;这是第一个易于验证的参考点。 在此之后,一位化名中本聪的人在密码邮件列表上发布了一项公告,他至今仍未公开验证身份。 在这一点上,白皮书强调了所发布的网络的关键功能和概述,这个现在重要的文件被称为比特币白皮书。

2009 年 1 月 3 日,第一个比特币区块被挖掘出来,称为创世区块。 五天后,第一个比特币软件发布并公布在同一个密码学邮件列表中。 从这一刻起,比特币开始慢慢成长并演变成我们今天拥有的强大网络。

它是如何工作的?

比特币的核心是使用一种叫做区块链的东西。这是一个公共分类账,包含网络上所有已确认的记录交易。 拥有公共分类账不仅可以提高透明度,还可以交叉检查和确认交易的有效性。 比特币还通过允许任何人参与来利用去中心化的力量,这将网络扩展到世界各地,使得网络变得越来越难以淹没并做假交易之类的事情。

与照片、视频,甚至像这样的文档不同,比特币不能只是被复制和传递。 区块链跟踪在任何给定时间流通中的每个比特币的位置以及哪个钱包可以控制它。 比特币软件、设计和其他核心材料都是开源的,允许任何人在技术上验证实际上没有人控制比特币,每个人都可以自由参与。

什么是比特币节点?

比特币节点构成网络的一部分。 任何人都可以通过互联网连接和一些硬件来启动这些任务。 节点用于验证交易和区块,因为账本是公开的并由许多人保管;这使得在确认后快速验证和验证网络上发生的交易变得高效。 一些人和企业也更喜欢运行自己的节点,以便对他们收到的数据更有信心。

你如何开采比特币?

挖掘比特币是新比特币进入流通的方式,同时以强大的方式帮助保护网络。 使用称为工作量证明的算法,比特币本质上是使用大规模计算能力来保护的。 网络发展得越多,向网络添加的挖矿能力越多,网络就越安全。

虽然节点用于验证现有交易,但挖矿会向链中添加新块并将交易放入这些块中。 在挖掘比特币时,你会以复杂谜题的形式进行复杂的数学运算,目标是发现一个新区块,并希望如果你先做到,就可以获得奖励。

在比特币的早期,可以使用计算机 CPU 和显卡进行高效挖掘;该网络已经变得如此具有竞争力,以至于称为 ASIC 矿工的专用硬件现在主导着比特币挖矿。 虽然这听起来可能很复杂,而且在某些方面确实如此,但不同之处在于 ASIC 矿工不擅长通用计算;它通常是为了出色地执行特定任务而构建的,在这种情况下,它正在解决寻找新块所需的复杂难题。

比特币的价值主张是什么?

比特币具有一系列使其有价值的品质。 首先它是去中心化的。 没有人控制网络、拥有网络或做出大多数人不同意遵循的决定。 由于它没有任何形式的集中控制或所有者,因此它也具有抗审查性。 只要有人想运行软件并支持网络,它就可以继续存在。 它也是无国界的,让世界各地的人们可以自由、轻松和快速地交换价值。

为比特币提供价值的另一个突出特点是它是有限的。 只有 2100 万比特币将永远存在。 这些是作为矿工发现新区块的奖励而慢慢铸造的,但每四年发生一次减半事件,其中每个新区块的奖励减半,最终达到零并支持这个最终上限。

比特币在任何特定时间的确切价值都是投机性的,由用户大规模交换决定,类似于股票或贵金属等其他资产。

我在哪里可以买到比特币?

比特币以多种方式在全球范围内积极交易。 从朋友之间的小型个人交易到大型场外交易 (OTC),一切都发生在现代比特币领域。 然而,许多人使用比特币交易所来交易他们的加密货币。

比特币交易有多种形式,但大多数可以大致分为订单簿交易或点对点 (P2P) 交易。 使用集中式订单簿交易所买卖比特币是一个有效的选择,但它确实有一些缺点。 使用中心化交易所需要您将比特币的控制权交给交易所。 这不是每个人都愿意做的事情,比特币交易的永久性可以使其成为一个风险更高的选择。 您可以用来发送和接收当地货币(法定货币)的付款方式类型,甚至在使用订单簿交换时使用的付款方式类型也有限制。

另一方面,P2P 市场的运作方式可为您提供更大的灵活性。 虽然有些仍然强迫您使用集中式钱包,但 LocalCoinSwap 之类的其他钱包允许您选择从管理钱包中选择以提高速度和便利性,或者选择只有您可以访问或控制的非托管钱包。

P2P 的灵活性来自于更直接地与其他人进行交易的能力。 对于初学者来说,在 P2P 交易所与成熟的供应商进行交易是非常好的,因为他们通常会发现这种方法对他们过去进行的不同类型的交易更加熟悉。 当您与真人交易时,您有更多选择;您可以从多种支付方式、具有不同经验水平和条款的交易者中进行选择,甚至可以选择您在交易过程中更喜欢使用的当地货币。

将新挖掘的文章直接发送到您的收件箱!
没有垃圾邮件,小指承诺!

What is Bitcoin?

profile pic
gingerbreadfork
·
5 min read

Let’s explore what Bitcoin is and why this form of digital currency has become such a driving force and forged an entire industry around it.

···

Since its first announcement back in 2008, bitcoin has inspired people worldwide to start taking more control over how they exchange value and store wealth. Let’s explore what it is and why this form of digital currency has become such a driving force and forged an entire industry around it.

The Origins of Bitcoin

Bitcoin is the first cryptocurrency to really start catching on. While there were some projects prior, these were mainly niche and experimental in nature. The domain bitcoin.org was first registered back on August 18th, 2008; this is the first point of reference that is easy to verify. Following this, an announcement was made on a cryptography mailing list by a person going by the pseudonym Satoshi Nakamoto who to this day still has no publicly verified identity. At this point, the whitepaper underlining the key functionality and overview of the network as released, this now important document is known as the bitcoin whitepaper.

On January 3rd, 2009, the first bitcoin block was mined, known as the genesis block. Five days later, the first bitcoin software was released and announced on the same cryptography mailing list. From this moment on, bitcoin slowly began to grow and evolve into the robust network we have today.

How Does it Work?

Bitcoin, at its core, works using something called a blockchain; this is a public ledger that contains all recorded transactions on the network that have been confirmed. Having a public ledger allows for not just significant levels of transparency but also the ability to cross-check and confirm the validity of transactions. Bitcoin also leverages the power of decentralization by allowing anyone to participate, which spreads out the network across the world, making it increasingly difficult to overwhelm the network and do something like fake a transaction.

Unlike a photo, video, or even a document like this one, bitcoin can’t just be copied and passed around. The blockchain keeps track of where each bitcoin in circulation exists at any given time and what wallet has control of it. The bitcoin software, design, and other core material are all open-source, allowing anyone technically to verify that in-fact no one is in control of bitcoin and that everyone is free to take part.

What are Bitcoin Nodes?

Bitcoin nodes form part of the network. Anyone can start these with an internet connection and a little hardware up to the task. Nodes are used to validate transactions and blocks, as the ledger is public and kept by many people; this makes it efficient to quickly verify and validate transactions occurring on the network once confirmed. Some people and businesses also prefer to run their own nodes to be even more confident in the data they are receiving.

How Do You Mine Bitcoin?

Mining bitcoin is how new bitcoin enters circulation while helping secure the network in a powerful way. Using an algorithm called proof of work, bitcoin is secured essentially using computing power at a large scale. The more the network grows, and the more mining power is added to the network, the more secure it becomes.

While nodes are used to verify existing transactions, mining adds new blocks to the chain and gets transactions into these blocks. When mining bitcoin, you perform complex maths in the form of complicated puzzles, with the goal being to discover a new block and hopefully earn the reward for doing so if you did it first.

While in the early days of bitcoin, it was possible to mine using computer CPUs and then graphics cards efficiently; the network has grown to be so competitive that specialized hardware called ASIC miners now dominate bitcoin mining. While this may sound complex, and in some ways it is, the difference is that an ASIC miner is not good at general computing; it is usually built to perform a specific task exceptionally well, and in this case, it’s solving the complex puzzles required to find new blocks.

What is the Value Proposition of Bitcoin?

Bitcoin has a range of qualities that make it valuable. Firstly it is decentralized. No one controls the network, owns the network, or can make decisions that the majority don’t agree to follow. Thanks to it not having any form of centralized control or owner, it is also censorship-resistant. As long as there are people that want to run the software and support the network, it can continue to exist. It is also borderless, allowing people worldwide to exchange value with freedom, ease, and speed.

One other stand-out feature that provides value to bitcoin is that it is finite. Only 21 million bitcoins will ever exist. These are slowly minted as rewards for miners finding new blocks, but every four years, a halving event occurs where the reward for each new block is halved, eventually reaching zero and supporting this final cap.

The exact value of bitcoin at any given time is speculative and decided on by the users exchanging it at scale, similar to other assets like stocks or precious metals.

Where Can I Buy Bitcoin?

Bitcoin is actively traded worldwide in a variety of ways. Everything from small personal transactions between friends to huge over-the-counter transactions (OTC) occur in the modern bitcoin landscape. However, many people use bitcoin exchanges to trade their cryptocurrency.

Bitcoin exchanges come in various forms, but most can be broadly classified as order book exchanges or peer-to-peer (P2P) exchanges. Buying and selling bitcoin using centralized order-book exchanges is a valid option, but it does come with some drawbacks. Using a centralized exchange requires you to pass control of your bitcoin to the exchange. This is something that not everyone is comfortable doing, and the permanence of bitcoin transactions can make this a higher-risk choice. There’s also a restriction on the types of payment methods you can use to send and receive local currencies (fiat) and even which kinds when using order-book exchanges.

P2P marketplaces, on the other hand, operate in a way that allows you a lot more flexibility. While some still force you to use a centralized wallet, others like LocalCoinSwap allow you the choice to choose either from a managed wallet for speed and convenience or a non-custodial wallet which only you ever have access or control over.

The flexibility of P2P comes from the ability to trade more directly with other people. It is excellent for a beginner to trade with an established vendor on a P2P exchange as they will often find this approach more familiar to different types of transactions they have made in the past. As you are trading with real people, you have many more options; you can select from a wide variety of payment methods, traders with different experience levels and terms, and even what local currency you’d prefer to deal with during trades.

Get freshly mined articles straight to your inbox!
No spam, pinky promise!