处理浪费时间的人 & 骗子

profile pic
gingerbreadfork
·
1 min read

作为供应商,您的时间变得很宝贵,请了解有关避免浪费时间和防止骗子的最佳方法的一些提示。

···

就像在生活的任何方面一样,您总是会遇到交易时没有最佳意图的人。 虽然这些人通常只会让有经验的供应商浪费一些时间,但他们仍然会令人烦恼,但您可以采取一些措施来帮助减少他们的影响。 了解有哪些常见的骗局以及如何最好地减轻它们或减少对它们的暴露,可以帮助您将更多时间花在想要交易而不是乱七八糟的客户身上。

保护自己的简单规则

如果您首先注意减少与它们的接触,或者确保当您不得不处理它们时,它们不会影响您在被它们延迟的情况下执行其他交易的能力,那么大多数时间浪费和诈骗是可以避免的。 其中一些需要判断力。 使用良好的判断力是您作为供应商拥有的最佳工具之一(当然,托管除外)。

  • 不要在托管之外进行交易。 说真的,永远不要在托管之外进行交易。
  • 将您的交易限额设置为合理的金额,这样您就不会因为浪费时间而无法交易,因为您始终可以使用额外的流动性。
  • 尝试衡量交易者的认真程度,并确保他们在承诺进行交易之前同意您的条款。
  • 如果您不喜欢与开设大笔交易的新交易者进行交易,请询问他们是否对较小的金额感兴趣,并建议他们与您进行新交易。
  • 在您确认自己收到资金之前,切勿向卖家付款。
  • 当心具有高退款风险的付款方式,尤其是对于没有良好交易历史的新用户。
  • 以现金方式进行交易时,不要仅仅为了交易而在您觉得不安全的地方见面。
  • 仅使用交易条款中设置的付款方式进行交易;如果用户想使用另一个,建议他们打开该特定交易并取消当前交易。

常见的诈骗

不幸的是,每当涉及到金钱或一般的价值交换时,总会有人怀有恶意并想方设法剥削他人。 了解可能发生的常见欺诈未遂类型有助于您更加了解存在的情况以及作为供应商需要注意的事项。

中间人:
中间人攻击可以通过多种方式发生。 然而,人们普遍认为与您交易的人正在操纵其他人向您付款,而没有意识到他们实际支付的费用。 在这些情况下,您的买家试图从与您没有关系的另一个人那里获得付款,并将向声称是他们的付款信息的人提供您的付款信息。 在这样的情况下,中间人 (MITM) 不必担心自己接受付款和处理退款,并且不太可能被发现,因为他们可以在交易后拿走他们的加密货币,只是为了停止响应发送资金的人。 作为卖家,如果您是此类情况的受害者,您可能最终不得不处理退款或其他潜在问题。

确保与您交谈的人实际上是向您汇款的人,无论您是要求他们在交易屏幕前向您展示印有其姓名的旧账单,还是您进行更密集的 KYC,这都可以提供帮助确保您知道您在与谁打交道,并降低在不知不觉中接受欺诈性第三方付款的风险。 如果交易者声称此人是他们的合作伙伴、家庭成员或朋友,他们没有理由无法证明他们知道他们正在向您发送付款并随时知道它的用途。 一些交易者还要求在付款后附上一份备忘录,说明他们专门向他们发送资金。 但是,在处理付款时,通常最好避免以付款处理器可能会发现的方式提及加密。 然而,这并不意味着您可以使用特定的短语来使欺骗某人成为交易中不知情的第三方支付变得更加困难。

Chargeback Fraud:
正如我们之前已经提到的,在处理某些付款方式时,退款可能是一种风险。 退单风险较高的最著名的付款方式是 PayPal。

一种常见的骗局或试图欺诈交易者的行为涉及简单地使用他们知道更有可能在被要求时发起退款的付款方式进行交易。 一个迹象可能是有人想要使用像 PayPal 这样的支付方式,这种方式通常附加相当高的保证金,并且与大多数供应商的交易规模限制相对较低。 尽管如此,他们还是希望尽可能多地进行交易,但似乎并不关心利润率。 这种类型的骗局通常来自 P2P 市场上未经验证的一次性账户。 如果新用户专门向您询问更大规模的 PayPal 交易,尤其是他们的第一笔交易,这表明他们可能(并非总是)试图进行退款欺诈。

在接受这些高风险的支付方式时,退款欺诈很难打击。 这种风险就是为什么利润率通常如此之高而限制如此之小,以至于在确实发生拒付的情况下,希望其他交易的盈利能力将有助于平衡事情并使供应商获得净利润。

避免托管:
最常见的骗局之一(如果不是最常见的话)是骗子试图让您在托管之外进行交易。 从来没有一个很好的理由在托管之外进行交易,即使是与您在现实生活中认识的人。 所涉及的小额费用可确保每个人都保持诚实并确保交易尽可能顺利进行,如果出现不可预见的纠纷,没有既得利益的管理员可以为您解决。

诈骗者会使用一系列借口或诱饵来试图让您在托管之外进行交易。 他们可能会声称托管对他们不起作用,他们可以通过“直接付款”或任何其他同样荒谬的借口为您提供更好的费率,这些借口都回来试图避免使用托管。 如果您在第三方托管之外进行交易,则您没有任何保护。 即使你有一些关于你正在打交道的人的信息,如果他们犯下这种类型的骗局,无论如何他们都可能会向你提供虚假信息,所以它不会让你尝试使用法律资源来解决问题有很大的成功机会。

幸运的是,通过几个简单的规则,可以很容易地避免托管。 切勿在托管之外进行交易。 当您是买家时,请务必确认托管已获得资金。 LocalCoinSwap 在为托管提供资金时明确说明了这一点,这使得这相对简单。 永远不要同意在托管之外付款;几乎可以肯定你会被骗并且没有追索权。 骗子可能会试图催促您,甚至可能让您觉得自己不知道自己在做什么,但这完全是一种操纵策略,让您在没有托管保护的情况下付款,这样他们就可以拿走您的钱。

始终报告那些试图在托管之外与您进行交易的人。 它不仅有助于保护平台上的其他人,还有助于加密货币保持其应得的正面形象。 每个被其中一个人骗过的人都会带着一个坏故事离开。 不要让反托管诈骗者毁了您或其他任何人的一天。

处理Coinlockers

作为供应商,Coinlockers 可能真的很痛苦。 coinlocker 是一个术语,描述了一个令人讨厌的“交易员”,出于某种原因,他等待您将您的代币锁定在托管中,并且要么在没有沟通的情况下离开,在付款前停止中间交易,要么让您托管以尝试并勒索您向他们发送一些资金以同意取消交易。

虽然在不时直接与人打交道时,投币式储物柜和其他浪费时间的东西总是一个问题,但您可以做一些事情来最大程度地减少与他们的问题。

  1. 如果您的部分资金被投币柜冻结,请确保您有足够的资金继续进行其他交易。 设置合理的交易限制是能够在任何给定时间与多方进行交易的关键。
  2. 如果您非常不喜欢投币柜,您可以通过限制您将与之交易的用户类型来降低与它们打交道的几率,例如,未经验证的用户、需要最少完成交易数量等。 但是,这将限制您接触合法交易者的机会。
  3. 如果有人无故对您保持沉默并且没有在合理的时间内做出回应(根据具体情况使用您的最佳判断),请对交易提出异议,以便尽早将资金释放给您.
  4. 使用像 LocalCoinSwap 这样的平台来解决有争议的交易并快速惩罚 coinlockers。 一些平台的争议解决时间很短,导致等待时间长,并增加了投币式储物柜对您的影响。
  5. 不要接受您从一开始就没有信心的交易。 有时,错过由于某种原因感觉不对的交易比浪费时间和资金被托管更好。

交易 P2P 的危险信号

  • 如果新交易者,尤其是用户名看起来很懒惰的交易者(通常是一个常见的名字后跟随机数),向您提出大量交易请求,请确保在接受之前您有时间处理可能的争议。
  • 怀疑任何急于让您通过 Whatsapp、Telegram 等离开平台聊天的人。 没有理由在场外聊天。
  • 如果价格好得令人难以置信,它可能会并且可能会导致浪费时间或更糟。
  • 交易员建议在您当前使用的平台以外的其他平台上进行交易。 有时,这些网站可能完全是欺诈性的,其唯一目的是窃取您的资金。
  • 与付款信息相关的名称与您提供的其他信息不匹配可能是欺诈性第三方付款的迹象。
  • 声称托管不起作用,拒绝为托管提供资金,或假装他们已经拥有。
  • 付款截图的证明或什至看起来可疑的视频,请务必自己确认收到付款,以确保您不会在稍后发现图像被修改/伪造时释放托管。
  • 注意不一致或奇怪的行为。 如果感觉有些不对劲,那很可能就是。
将新挖掘的文章直接发送到您的收件箱!
没有垃圾邮件,小指承诺!

Dealing With Time Wasters & Scammers

profile pic
gingerbreadfork
·
7 min read

As a vendor your time becomes valuable, discover some tips on the best way to avoid timewasters and keep scammers at bay.

···

Just as in any aspect of life, you can always come across people who don't have the best intentions when trading. While these people often merely result in some wasted time for an experienced vendor, they can still be an annoyance, but there are measures you can take to help reduce their impact. Knowing what common scams are out there and how you can best mitigate them or reduce your exposure to them helps you spend more time on customers that want to trade rather than mess around.

Simple Rules to Protect Yourself

Most timewasters and scams can be avoided if you take care to either reduce your exposure to them in the first place or ensure that when you do have to deal with them that they don't affect your ability to perform other trades while delayed by them. Some of these require a judgment call. Using good judgment is one of the best tools you have as a vendor (other than escrow, of course).

  • Don't trade outside of escrow. Seriously, never trade outside of escrow, ever.
  • Set your trade limits to reasonable amounts so that a timewaster can't have you unable to trade as you have extra liquidity available to you at all times.
  • Try and gauge how serious a trader is and ensure that they agree with your terms before committing to going through with a trade.
  • If you are uncomfortable trading with a new trader who opens a large trade, ask if they'd be interested in a smaller amount and suggest they open a new trade with you.
  • Never release payment to a seller until you have confirmed receipt of the funds for yourself.
  • Beware of payment methods with high chargeback risk, especially with new users who don't have a good trade history.
  • When trading cash-in-person, don't settle to meet in areas that you don't feel safe just to get the trade.
  • Only trade with the payment method set in terms of the trade; if a user wants to use another, suggest they open that specific trade and cancel the current one.

Commonly Attempted Scams

Unfortunately, whenever it comes to money or value exchange in general, there are always those that have bad intentions and look for ways to exploit others. Understanding the common types of attempted fraud that can occur helps you be more aware of what is out there and what to watch out for as a vendor.

Man in the Middle:
The man in the middle attack can occur in a range of ways. However, it comes down to generally thought that the person you are trading with is manipulating someone else to send you payment without realizing what they are actually paying for. In these scenarios, your buyer is attempting to get payment from another person you have no involvement with and will provide your payment information to that person claiming it to be theirs. In a scenario like this, the man in the middle (MITM) doesn't have to worry about accepting the payment themselves and dealing with chargeback and is less likely to be discovered as they can take their cryptocurrency after the transaction only to stop responding to the person that sent the funds. As the seller, you'll likely end up having to deal with a chargeback or other potential issues if you are a victim of this sort of situation.

Ensure that the person you are speaking with is actually the person sending you money, whether you request them to show you an old bill with their name on it being held in front of the trade screen, or you do more intensive KYC, this can help ensure you know who you are dealing with and reduce the risk of unknowingly accepting fraudulent third party payments. If a trader claims this person is their partner, family member, or friends, there's no reason they shouldn't be able to prove they know they are sending the payment to you and know what it is for at any time. Some traders also request a memo attached to payments that describe that they are sending funds to them specifically. However, when dealing with payments, it's usually best to avoid mention of crypto in a way that your payment processor may spot it. However, that doesn't mean you could use specific phrases to make it more difficult to fool someone into paying as the unknowing third party in a trade.

Chargeback Fraud:
As we've already mentioned previously, chargebacks can be a risk you take when dealing with certain payment methods. The most well-known payment method that comes with a higher risk of a chargeback is PayPal.

A common scam or attempt to fraud traders involves simply opening trades with payment methods they know are more likely to initiate a chargeback when requested. A sign of this could be that someone wanted to use a payment method like PayPal that typically has a pretty high margin attached and relatively low trade size limits with most vendors. Still, they want to trade as much as possible yet don't seem concerned about the margins. This type of scam is often performed from unverified throw-away accounts on P2P marketplaces. If a new user is coming to you asking specifically for PayPal trades of a larger size, especially for one of their first trades, this is a sign they may (not always) be attempting chargeback fraud.

Chargeback fraud is hard to combat when accepting these kinds of high-risk payment methods. This risk is why margins are generally so high and limits so small that, on the occasions that a chargeback does occur, hopefully, other trades' profitability will help balance things out and leave the vendor with a net profit.

Escrow Avoidance:
What is easily one of the most commonly attempted scams, if not the most common, are scammers trying to get you to trade outside of escrow. There's never a good reason to trade outside escrow, even with someone you know in real life. The small fee involved ensures that everyone is kept honest and that trades go as smoothly as possible, and if there is an unforeseen dispute, admins with no vested interests can resolve it for you.

There is a range of excuses or bait that scammers will use to try and get you to trade outside of escrow. They may claim that the escrow isn't working for them, that they can offer you far better rates with "direct payment," or any number of other equally absurd excuses that all come back to trying to avoid using the escrow. If you trade outside escrow, you have no protection. Even if you have some information about the person you are dealing with, if they are committing this type of scam, they will likely be providing you false information anyway, so it won't allow you to try and use legal resources to get it resolved with much chance of success.

Fortunately, escrow avoidance is easy to protect yourself from with a couple of simple rules. Never trade outside of escrow. Always confirm that escrow has been funded when you are a buyer. LocalCoinSwap makes this clear when the escrow is funded, making this relatively straightforward. Never agree to send payment outside of escrow; it's almost certain you will be scammed and have no recourse. The scammer may try to rush you or perhaps even make you feel like you don't know what you're doing, but it's all a manipulation tactic to get you to pay without the protection of escrow so they can walk away with your money.

Always report those that try to trade with you outside of escrow. It helps not just protect others on the platform but helps cryptocurrency maintain the positive image it deserves. Every person that gets scammed by one of these people walks away with a bad story to tell. Don't let anti-escrow scammers ruin your day or anyone else's.

Dealing With Coinlockers

Coinlockers can be a real pain to deal with as a vendor. A coinlocker is a term that describes a nuisance "trader" who, for one reason or another, waits for you to lock up your coins in escrow and either just leave without communication, stops mid trade before payment, or get you to escrow to try and blackmail you into sending them some funds to agree to cancel the trade.

While coinlockers and other time wasters will always be a problem when dealing with people directly from time to time, you can do a few things to minimize the issues you have with them.

  1. Ensure you have enough funds to continue with other trades if some of your funds are held up by a coinlocker. Setting reasonable trade limits is key to being able to trade with multiple parties at any given time.
  2. If you are extremely averse to coinlockers, you can reduce the odds of dealing with them by limiting the types of users you will trade with, e.g., non-verified users, requiring a minimum number of completed trades, and so on. However, this will limit your exposure to legitimate traders.
  3. If someone has gone silent on you without cause and hasn't responded in a reasonable amount of time (use your best judgment based on a case-by-case basis), dispute the trade to have the funds released to you sooner rather than later.
  4. Use a platform like LocalCoinSwap that will resolve disputed trades and penalize coinlockers fast. Some platforms have poor dispute resolution times, resulting in long waiting periods and increasing the impact that coinlockers can have on you.
  5. Don't accept a trade that you aren't confident about from the start. Sometimes it's better to miss a transaction that doesn't feel right for some reason than to have your time wasted and your funds trapped in escrow.

Red Flags to Watch Out for Trading P2P

  • If a new trader, especially one with a lazy-looking username (often a common name followed by random numbers), comes to you with a large trade request, be sure that you have time to deal with a possible dispute before accepting.
  • Be suspicious of anyone desperate to get you to chat off the platform via Whatsapp, Telegram, etc. There's no reason to chat off-site.
  • If the price is too good to be true, it probably is and will likely result in wasted time or worse.
  • Traders suggesting to trade on other platforms than what you are currently using. Sometimes these websites can be completely fraudulent made with the sole purpose of stealing your funds.
  • Names associated with payment information that doesn't match other information you have been provided may be signs of fraudulent third-party payments.
  • Claims that the escrow isn't working, refusing to fund escrow, or pretending they already have.
  • Proof of payment screenshots or even videos that look suspicious, always confirm receipt of payment yourself to ensure you don't release the escrow to find out later that the images were modified/fake.
  • Look out for inconsistencies or strange behavior. If something feels off, it quite possibly is.
Get freshly mined articles straight to your inbox!
No spam, pinky promise!