什么是闪电网络?

profile pic
gingerbreadfork
·
1 min read

了解为什么每个人都在谈论这种旨在帮助将比特币扩展到新高度的第 2 层技术。

···

比特币在一定程度上改变了我们许多人对交换价值甚至金融的看法。 然而,任何使用过比特币的人都知道,比特币交易的安全性是有代价的,包括财务和时间本身。 闪电网络是否解决了这个问题,并为使用比特币进行廉价和即时的小额支付打开了大门?

什么是闪电网络?

闪电网络试图解决比特币网络上的扩展和微交易问题。 它通过不改变比特币的底层协议而是在提供的现有基础之上运行来实现这一点,因此被认为是“第 2 层”支付协议。

它不是区块链、侧链或任何种类的链;它是一种点对点 (P2P) 网络形式,通过将自身叠加在比特币区块链之上并使用链上交易来完成支付渠道和其中资金的打开和关闭。

闪电网络是如何工作的?

在闪电网络上进行的交易主要在链下进行,在打开和关闭支付渠道之外。 这种方法的工作原理是,当与其他人打开通道时,会创建一种多签名地址形式,双方开始保持平衡。 当资金通过通道发送时,交易由通道的所有者签署,如果通道关闭,则最近的交易被视为最终状态。

例如,如果两个人打开一个每边包含两个比特币的通道,一方向另一方发送 1 个比特币,然后决定关闭通道;这将在链上完成,一个人最终将获得 3 BTC,另一个人将获得 3 个比特币。 然而,这个例子并不是一个理想的情况,因为打开和关闭通道都需要进行链上交易,因此理想情况下,通道将用于大量交易,其中余额可以快速且廉价地移动一旦通道关闭,最终确定并记录在比特币区块链上。

事情变得更有趣了,因为随着网络的发展,更多的渠道开始与其他人开放,并且形成了更广泛的网络;这就是闪电的真正魔力开始发挥作用的地方。 如果可以找到从一个用户到另一个用户的路径,那么即使交易需要通过多个不同的支付渠道,它仍然可以发生。 来自世界各地的网络参与者不仅可以允许在两方之间进行大量交易,还可以通过开放的支付渠道相互发送支付。 能够通过多个渠道使用短路径进行支付,使您可以进行闪电支付,而无需与您可能想要与之交易的每个人都开设一个渠道。 这种灵活性使整个过程更具可扩展性。 在撰写本文时,已经有超过 10,000 个节点在运行,并且有超过 45,000 个通道处于活动状态。

你能用比特币买一杯咖啡吗?

当提供商接受比特币时,使用比特币来交换商品和服务一直是可能的,并且将继续向前发展。 然而,由于平均比特币区块需要 10 分钟,这意味着如果供应商或服务提供商想要确认付款确实发生了,您可能需要等待至少几分钟,而且前提是他们愿意接受您的付款单次确认后。 还有费用需要考虑。 链上费用可能高于一杯普通咖啡的成本。 对于许多交易来说,这完全没问题,但对于这样的低价值项目,寻找替代方案(例如闪电网络)是有意义的。

使用闪电网络进行这样的小额购买只是一个巨大的潜在用例的一个例子,也是为什么这项技术在萨尔瓦多这样的国家起飞,比特币最近在历史性举措中成为法定货币。 虽然比特币在汇款方面总是很出色,在这种情况下,链上费用和所需的时间通常会使西联汇款或 Swift 电汇等竞争选择相形见绌,但值得记住的是,并非所有汇款都很大。 对于较小的汇款,即使是最小的金额也很重要,甚至可以改变生活。

闪电网络安全吗?

闪电网络在 Joseph Poon 和 Thaddeus Dryja 于 2015 年创建的白皮书中首次被提及,尽管这意味着它不是全新的,但在安全性方面仍然存在一些担忧。 潜在漏洞利用的一个示例包括 Aviv Zohar 和 Jona Harris 的论文中描述 &

已经提出了几种形式的理论攻击,包括一些将资金置于风险之中的攻击形式,这也是闪电网络在近年来开始增长的情况下更适合小型交易的原因之一。 值得庆幸的是,许多攻击网络的尝试对攻击者来说代价高昂,在许多情况下降低了风险。

尽管如此,仍在努力寻找网络中的潜在缺陷并加强闪电网络的安全性。 虽然发现缺陷似乎是一个合理的担忧,当然,它可能是,致力于将 Lightning 带到最前沿的开发人员和支持者社区似乎非常重视并致力于提高安全性和创建可能的最佳第二层解决方案对于比特币。

闪电网络的隐私

使用闪电网络的另一个好处是,虽然很容易看出交易可能正在打开或关闭通道,但这是关于通过查看比特币区块浏览器可以快速了解的程度。 虽然许多人选择公开他们的频道,但您可以选择打开一个私人频道,唯一会被分享的是一个交易,显示一个频道是用一定的余额打开的,此时一旦关闭了余额。 数以千计的交易可以通过一个开放的渠道进行,而这些交易不会像比特币的链上交易那样共享。

打开和关闭通道

当通道打开时,会创建一个多重签名地址,要求双方签名以花费所包含的资金,这对于关闭通道是必要的。 但是,这可能会导致其中一方出于多种原因放弃该渠道,或者他们只是直接拒绝合作。 这个问题有一个叫做散列时间锁合约(HTLCs)的解决方案,如果发生任何类型的情况,它会提供一个解决方案;顾名思义,它只需要时间。 HTLC 创造了一个条件,即使双方没有签署在特定时间或区块高度花费锁定在地址中的资金,他们仍然可以这样做。

我可以用闪电网络发送多少?

虽然之前对通道大小有限制,但最近被删除了。 您使用的渠道将限制您可以通过闪电网络发送的最大比特币数量。 您在低端基本上没有任何限制,您可以轻松发送单个聪。

闪电是一种将比特币提升到新高度的令人兴奋的方式。 如果您对这种将比特币扩展到基础层之外的方法感兴趣,那么关于这个有趣的话题,还有很多要了解的内容,当涉及到比特币和区块链技术的世界时,还有更多。

将新挖掘的文章直接发送到您的收件箱!
没有垃圾邮件,小指承诺!

What is the Lightning Network?

profile pic
gingerbreadfork
·
5 min read

Discover why everyone is talking about this layer 2 technology aiming to help scale bitcoin to new heights.

···

Bitcoin has changed how many of us look at exchanging value and even finance in general to a degree. However, anyone that has used bitcoin knows that the security of bitcoin transactions comes at a cost, both financial and in time itself. Does the Lightning Network solve this and open the doors to making cheap and instant micro-payments with bitcoin?

What is Lightning Network?

The Lightning Network is an attempt to solve issues with scaling and micro-transactions on the bitcoin network. It does this by not changing the underlying protocols of bitcoin and instead operating on top of the existing foundation provided and, as such, is considered a "layer 2" payment protocol.

It is not a blockchain, side chain, or any kind of chain; it is instead a form of peer-to-peer (P2P) network that works by overlaying itself on top of the bitcoin blockchain and using on-chain transactions to finalize the opening and closing of payment channels and the funds within.

How Does the Lightning Network Work?

Transactions performed on Lightning are conducted primarily off-chain, outside of opening and closing payment channels. This approach works as when a channel is opened with someone else, a form of multi-signature address is created where both sides hold a balance to begin. As funds are sent through the channel, transactions are signed by the owners of the channel, with the most recent transaction considered the final state if the channel is closed.

For example, if two people open a channel containing two bitcoin on each side, one party sends 1 BTC to the other then decided to close the channel; this would be finalized on-chain, and one person would end up with 3 BTC the other just one. However, this example is not an ideal situation as an on-chain transaction would need to occur to both open and close the channel, so ideally, a channel would be used for high volumes of transactions where balances can move quickly and inexpensively to only be finalized and recorded on the bitcoin blockchain once the channel is closed.

Things get more interesting because as the network grows, more channels start to open with other people, and a more extensive network forms; this is where the real magic of Lightning starts to come into play. If a path can be found from one user to another user, then a transaction can still occur even if it requires moving through multiple different payment channels. Instead of only allowing for a high volume of transactions to occur between two parties, network participants from around the world can route payments to each other through open payment channels. Being able to route payments using the shorted path via multiple channels allows you to make Lightning payments without having to open a channel with every person with whom you may want to transact. This flexibility makes the entire process far more scalable. At the time of writing, there are already over 10,000 nodes operating with over 45,000 channels active.

Can You Buy a Cup of Coffee with Bitcoin?

Using bitcoin to exchange goods and services when the provider accepts bitcoin has always been possible, and it will continue to be going forward. However, as the average bitcoin block takes 10 minutes, this means that if a vendor or service provider wants to confirm that payment has indeed occurred, you could be waiting at least a few minutes, and that's only if they are willing to accept your payment after a single confirmation. There are also fees to consider. On-chain fees can be higher than the cost of an average cup of coffee. For many transactions, this is perfectly fine, but for lower value items like this, it makes sense to look to an alternative such as the Lightning Network.

Using the Lightning Network for smaller purchases like this is just one example of a great potential use case and why this technology is taking off in countries like El Salvador, where bitcoin was recently made legal tender in a historic move. While bitcoin will always be exceptional for remittances, where on-chain fees and the time required can typically dwarf competing options like Western Union or Swift wire transfers, it's worth remembering that not all remittances are large. For smaller remittances, even the smallest amounts can matter or even be life-changing.

Is the Lightning Network Safe?

The Lightning Network was first mentioned in a white paper created by Joseph Poon and Thaddeus Dryja back in 2015, and although this means that it isn't brand new, there are still some concerns when it comes to security. An example of a potential exploit includes a "Flood & Loot" attack described in a paper by Aviv Zohar and Jona Harris.

There have been several forms of theoretical attacks proposed, including some that put funds at risk, which is one of the reasons that Lightning is preferred for smaller transactions even as the network has started to grow more in recent years. Thankfully, many attempts to attack the network would be costly for the attacker, reducing the risks in many cases.

Nonetheless, work is being done to find potential flaws in the network and strengthen Lightning’s security. While finding flaws seems like a valid concern, and of course, it can be, the community of developers and supporters working towards bringing Lightning to the forefront seem to be placing a strong emphasis and commitment to improving security and creating the best possible layer two solutions for bitcoin.

Privacy on the Lightning Network

Another benefit of using Lightning is that while it's easy to see that a transaction likely was opening or closing a channel, that's about the extent of what can be quickly learned by looking at a bitcoin block explorer. While many choose to make their channels public, you can opt instead to open a private channel, and the only thing that will be shared is a transaction showing that a channel was opened with a certain balance and once closed the balance at this point. Thousands of transactions could occur with an open channel that wouldn't be shared in the same way that on-chain transactions are when it comes to bitcoin.

Opening and Closing Channels

When a channel is opened, a multi-signature address is created requiring signing by both parties to spend the funds contained, which would be necessary to close the channel. However, this could result in one of the parties abandoning the channel for any number of reasons or them just straight-up refusing to cooperate. This problem has a solution called hash timelock contracts (HTLCs) which provide an out if any type of situation like this occurs; it just requires, as the name suggests, time. A HTLC creates a condition where even if both parties don't sign to spend the funds locked in the address at a specific time or block height, they can do so anyway.

How Much Can I Send with the Lightning Network?

While there was previously a limit on channel size, this was removed more recently. The channels you are using will limit the maximum amount of bitcoin you can send with the Lightning network. You experience essentially no limitations on the lower end, and you can send a single satoshi with ease.

Lightning is an exciting way to take bitcoin to new heights. If you're interested in this approach to scale bitcoin beyond the base layer, there's plenty more to learn about this interesting topic and much more when it comes to the world of bitcoin and blockchain technology.

Get freshly mined articles straight to your inbox!
No spam, pinky promise!