比特币隐私的现实

profile pic
gingerbreadfork
·
1 min read

完全匿名与使用比特币时可以获得的隐私类型之间形成鲜明对比。

···

虽然您可能会在媒体上听到称比特币是犯罪分子最喜欢的工具,但实际情况却大不相同。 完全匿名与使用比特币和大多数其他加密货币时可以获得的隐私类型之间存在鲜明对比。

比特币是匿名的吗?

与您所听到的不同,比特币本质上不是匿名的;事实上,它是伪匿名的。 虽然这是一个常见的误解,但最初认为完全匿名和伪匿名之间的区别有点小众。

首先,比特币使用公共区块链。 当交易在公共区块链上执行时,任何有权访问网络的人都可以看到并跟踪它们。 因此,如果您在比特币浏览器中打开任何活动地址,您将能够看到已发生的进出钱包的任何移动以及其他指标,例如该地址的当前和历史余额。 例如,假设您要在需要 KYC 的交易所使用钱包,或者使用您的某些信息从企业购买商品和服务。 在这种情况下,您有被连接到该地址的风险,并且可以合理地假设您已经执行了与该钱包相关的任何以前或将来的活动。

即使任何人都可以创建一个比特币钱包(即使是一台机器也可以,如果编程来这样做),如果你积极使用钱包,你几乎总是有一些风险在沿线的某个地方暴露你的身份。 可以让您成为钱包地址所有者的主要事情是当您使用入口匝道将您的本地货币或其他资产转换为比特币时,因为这是您最有可能需要提供详细信息的时间。 如果您要开采一些比特币,然后只将其发送到没有上下文或与您本人无关的地址,您可能不必担心,尽管这对于大多数比特币用户来说并非现实。

虽然有些人选择使用比特币混合器来打破与特定硬币相关的历史链条,但这种行为开始引起人们的注意。 但是,在使用集中式交易所时,混合可能会引发危险信号,尤其是当您使用它们进行套现时。 比特币混合的另一个问题是在考虑使用混合服务时通常需要考虑信任。

比特币如何保护您的隐私?

虽然从技术意义上讲,使用比特币保持完全隐私有点用词不当,但如果您对购买、出售和其他方面的方式稍加注意,则可以保持对大多数人来说足够好的匿名和隐私标准交易你的比特币。

对于敏感地区的那些比特币用户来说,它已成为一种令人难以置信的汇款工具,这在很大程度上要归功于全球 P2P 交易运动,它提供了流动性和访问人员和地区的机会,否则将难以利用比特币等现代工具进行一系列原因。 结果,比特币消除了自由交换价值的障碍,同时还回了使用银行等传统金融系统时失去的许多自由。

如果你处于微妙的境地,比特币让你能够在几分钟内以最少的费用在世界各地转移资金,甚至可以通过记住你的种子词或私钥而在不携带任何东西的情况下跨境携带价值。

隐私对我们每个人的意义各不相同。 尽管如此,对于世界上那些在经济或政治上苦苦挣扎的人来说,在使用比特币时可以找到的自由裁量权对于保护自己和保护您可能拥有的任何价值免受恶性通货膨胀、扣押或窥探是非常有益的。 即使比特币的伪匿名不是真正的匿名,也可以实现很多。 即使在与各种疏忽和限制作斗争的情况下,只要看看世界上迅速采用比特币的地区,您就会看到这一点。

某些比特币交易可能会影响隐私更多

根据您在比特币网络上的交易方式,某些类型的交易可能比其他类型的交易更能影响您的隐私。 其中一种交易类型是多输入交易。 正如我们已经提到的,比特币区块链是公开的,在你的情况下比特币的匿名程度取决于你如何选择使用网络和你进行的交易。 因此,假设您正在使用来自您控制的地址的多个输入执行更高级的交易。 在这种情况下,这可能导致所有包含的地址都与您的人相关联,即使使用的其他地址之一在某个时候与您相关联。

另一个可能损害隐私的领域是使用多重签名钱包。 处理多签钱包时,每笔交易都会发布控制钱包的逻辑,让所有人看到;比特币主根升级正在解决这个问题,这本身就是一个有趣的话题,特别是如果您对更高级用例的比特币隐私感兴趣。

使用比特币时改善隐私的方法

  • 避免大量使用相同的地址
  • 使用闪电网络
  • 运营自己的全节点
  • 使用 VPN 或 TOR

为什么比特币对犯罪分子来说是一个糟糕的选择

由于比特币区块链是公开的,硬币很容易被监控,使用比特币作为犯罪工具不仅是一个糟糕的选择;在许多情况下,这是非常荒谬的。 随着时间的推移,大型中心化交易所遭受黑客攻击,可悲的是导致资金损失,尽管这些资金往往最终陷入困境并难以花费。 由于黑客、勒索软件攻击或类似犯罪而获得的比特币很容易被标记为受污染,并且在试图兑现时存入中心化交易所时可以迅速被没收。 将数百万美元的比特币转移到任何地方兑现会很快引发警报,这对您没有好处。 另一方面,现金相对具有可替代性,因此在大多数情况下,一堆钱等于另一堆钱,虽然在涉及犯罪时大规模支出或使用变得更加困难,但现金仍然并且可能仍然是主要支柱.

为什么隐私是一个有效的问题

不幸的是,当谈到隐私这个话题时,很多人会简单地暗示,如果你没有做错任何事,你就没有什么可担心的。 然而,事情很少如此简单,实际上,粗心对待您的财务隐私的危险要微妙得多。

在世界的某些地方,拥有大量资金会使您在社区中处于危险之中;不难看出,从这个意义上说,隐私是一个重要的考虑因素,在某些极端情况下,您在与自己的政府打交道时可能会面临风险。 但是,不幸的是,很容易忘记并不是每个人都处于相同的位置。 当我们都不太重视隐私时,每个人都会受苦,因为越孤立,保护隐私就越不切实际。

比特币让你有能力成为你自己的银行,进入全球经济,以适合你的需求和条件的方式自由交换,并且稍微小心,你可以在合理程度的隐私下这样做好。

将新挖掘的文章直接发送到您的收件箱!
没有垃圾邮件,小指承诺!

The Reality of Bitcoin Privacy

profile pic
gingerbreadfork
·
5 min read

There is a stark contrast between total anonymity and the type of privacy you can get when using bitcoin.

···

While you may hear in the media claims that bitcoin is a favorite tool of criminals, the reality is actually quite different. There is a stark contrast between total anonymity and the type of privacy you can get when using bitcoin and most other cryptocurrencies.

Is Bitcoin Anonymous?

Unlike what you have heard, bitcoin is not by nature anonymous; it is, in fact, pseudo-anonymous. While this is a common misconception, the difference between being totally anonymous and pseudo-anonymous is somewhat niche at first thought.

Firstly, bitcoin utilizes a public blockchain. When transactions are performed on a public blockchain, they are visible for anyone with access to the network to see and track. Thus, if you open any active address in a bitcoin explorer, you will be able to see any movements in and out of the wallet that has occurred and other metrics such as the current and historical balances of that address. For example, suppose you were to use a wallet on an exchange that requires KYC or to purchase goods and services from a business with some of your information. In that case, you are at risk of being connected to that address and can be reasonably assumed to have performed any previous or future activity associated with that wallet.

Even though anyone can create a bitcoin wallet (even a machine could if programmed to do so), if you were to use a wallet actively, you are almost always at some risk of exposing your identity somewhere along the line. The primary thing that can expose you as the owner of a wallet address is when you are using an on-ramp to convert your local currency or other assets into bitcoin, as this is the most likely time where you will have to provide your details. If you were to mine some bitcoin and then only ever send that to addresses with no context or connection to who you were, you might not have to worry much though this is not the reality for most bitcoin users.

While some people opt to use bitcoin mixers to break the chain of history associated with specific coins, this behavior is starting to draw attention. However, mixing can raise red flags when using centralized exchanges, especially if you use them to cash out. Another problem with bitcoin mixing is that trust will typically need to be considered when considering using a mixing service.

How Can Bitcoin Protect Your Privacy?

While in a technical sense maintaining total privacy using bitcoin is a bit of a misnomer, it is possible to maintain a standard of anonymity and privacy that is good enough for most people provided you place a little care in how you buy, sell, and otherwise trade your bitcoin.

For those bitcoin users in sensitive regions, it has become an incredible tool for remittances, in large part thanks to the global P2P trading movement that provides liquidity and access to people and areas that otherwise would struggle to leverage modern tools like bitcoin for a range of reasons. As a result, bitcoin removes roadblocks to exchanging value freely while giving back a lot of the lost freedom when using traditional financial systems like banks.

If you are in a delicate situation, bitcoin gives you the power to move funds around the world in minutes with minimal expense or even to carry value across borders while carrying nothing at all simply by memorizing your seed words or private key.

What privacy means to each of us can vary. Still, for those in parts of the world that are struggling economically or politically, the discretion that can be found when using bitcoin can be an extremely beneficial thing to protecting yourself and any value you may have from hyperinflation, seizure, or prying eyes. Even with the pseudo-anonymity of bitcoin not being genuinely anonymous, a lot can be achieved. This is something you will see simply by looking at the parts of the world rapidly taking to bitcoin even while struggling with various oversights and restrictions.

Certain Bitcoin Transaction Can Impact Privacy More

Depending on how you transact on the bitcoin network, some types of transactions can affect your privacy more than others. One of those transaction types is multi-input transactions. As we've already touched on, the bitcoin blockchain is public, and how anonymous bitcoin is in your case comes down to how you choose to use the network and the transactions you make. So, suppose you are performing more advanced transactions with multiple inputs from addresses you control. In that case, this can result in all the included addresses being associated with your person if even one of the others used are connected to you at some point.

Another area where privacy can be compromised is when using multi-signature wallets. When dealing with multi-sig wallets, each transaction that occurs publishes the logic controlling the wallet for all to see; this is being addressed with the bitcoin taproot upgrade, which is an interesting topic in itself, especially if you are interested in bitcoin privacy for more advanced use cases.

Ways to Improve Your Privacy When Using Bitcoin

  • Avoid using the same addresses heavily
  • Use the lightning network
  • Operate your own full node
  • Use a VPN or TOR

Why Bitcoin is a Bad Choice for Criminals

As the bitcoin blockchain is public and coins can be easily monitored, using bitcoin as a tool to commit crime is not just a poor choice; it’s quite an absurd one in many cases. Over time large centralized exchanges have been exposed to hacks that have sadly resulted in a loss of funds, although these funds often end up stuck and challenging to spend. Bitcoin gained as the results of a hack, ransomware attack, or similar crimes are easily flagged as tainted and can quickly be seized when deposited into centralized exchanges when attempting to cash out. It does you little good to have millions of dollars in bitcoin when moving them anywhere to cash out would quickly raise alarms. On the other hand, cash is relatively fungible, so in most cases, one pile of money is equal to another, and while it becomes more difficult at scale to spend or use when it comes to crime, cash is and will likely remain the mainstay.

Why Privacy is a Valid Concern

Unfortunately, when the topic of privacy comes up, many people will simply imply that if you aren't doing anything wrong, you don't have anything to be concerned about. However, things are rarely quite so simple, and in reality, the dangers of being careless with your financial privacy are far more nuanced.

In some parts of the world, having much money at all can put you at risk in your community; it’s not hard to see how privacy is an important consideration in that sense, in some extreme cases, you may be at risk when it comes to dealing with your own government. But, unfortunately, it’s easy to forget that not everyone is in the same position. When we all take privacy less seriously, everyone suffers as it becomes far less practical to maintain privacy the more isolated you are in doing so.

Bitcoin allows you the power to be your own bank, to access the global economy, the freedom to exchange in ways that suit your needs and on your terms, and with a bit of care, you can do so with a reasonable degree of privacy as well.

Get freshly mined articles straight to your inbox!
No spam, pinky promise!