比特币分叉时会发生什么?

profile pic
gingerbreadfork
·
1 min read

作为比特币持有者,分叉对你意味着什么并不总是很清楚。

···

比特币分叉经常在加密领域被提及,但很少被解释。 因此,虽然您可能知道有时比特币确实会分叉,但并不总是清楚这对您作为比特币持有者或希望参与加密货币的人意味着什么。

硬分叉与软分叉

除了一些关键的事情之外,硬分叉和软分叉非常相似。 首先,软分叉本质上是软件升级的一种形式,不应导致链分裂,从而出现两条独立的链。 另一方面,硬分叉会导致链分裂,因为它们需要进行更改,否则会破坏链;然而,这通常只是一个必要的副产品。 除非有一个活跃的社区出于某种原因希望维护和支持另一条链,否则它很可能会相对较快地消亡。

有争议的硬分叉

有争议的硬分叉发生在对前进道路或其他一些特定问题的强烈分歧是有时会发生的现实。 比特币现金是有争议的硬分叉的一个例子。 为响应比特币 SegWit 升级而创建,比特币现金试图采取不同的路径,而不是 SegWit 选择支持区块大小的增加。

比特币分叉时我该怎么办?

在大多数情况下,作为普通用户,比特币分叉通常不需要任何操作。 但是,如果您正在操作采矿设备或运行节点,您可能需要更新您正在使用的软件,以确保您遵循您同意的路径。 比特币网络的变化往往进展缓慢,以确保达成共识,并且在发生分叉时不太可能出现任何混乱。 如果您对比特币新闻稍加注意,即使作为矿工或节点运营商,分叉应该不会对您造成最小的担忧。

源代码分叉

有时在考虑分叉比特币时,重点可能放在比特币的实现和周围的代码上,主要是为了启动一个不相关的项目。 一个简单的例子是莱特币,它最初是比特币核心客户端代码库的一个分支,然后经过修改以适应替代愿景。

代码库分叉不必涉及当前的区块链,它可以简单地作为在利用一些现有工作的同时启动新项目的一种方式。 此外,由于比特币是一个开源项目,任何人都可以自由创建自己的比特币版本并使用在 MIT 许可下发布的现有代码库,这是最宽松的许可之一。

不涉及比特币区块链当前状态的分叉是您通常无法声明的分叉,除非有向现有比特币持有者空投硬币的辅助方法。 有时,如果钱包地址使用相同的格式,然后将硬币空投到有余额的地址,则可能会出现快照,但这完全取决于任何新项目的开发人员。

如何收集比特币分叉?

如果有一个有争议的分叉,或者一个新项目使用快照将代币空投到新网络上的现有钱包地址,您可能想知道如何认领这些代币。 然而,这个问题并没有一个简单的答案,因为处理这个问题的格式可能会有所不同,并且无论何时你想认领分叉币,都需要考虑一些严重的风险。

在某些情况下,当您从比特币分叉访问硬币时,您将需要提供您的私钥,这总是需要非常认真地对待。 但是,除非您对钱包或其他软件的来源以及项目的合法性有 100% 的信心,否则您甚至不应远程考虑这样做。 因此,如果您正在考虑申请一些分叉比特币,几乎可以肯定的是,最好先采取观望的态度,然后再进入,看看就该项目的合法性如何达成共识。

比特币一直以来都有大量的分叉。 这些分叉中的许多甚至没有达到发布阶段或只保持最轻微的短期兴趣。 因此,在很多情况下,在考虑参与之前,您最好等待并查看项目是否在发布后幸存下来。 不幸的是,许多比特币分叉试图以不光彩的意图兑现比特币名称。

比特币如何发生分叉?

比特币分叉是没有中央权威的比特币区块链的副产品。 共识有助于推动比特币网络向前发展,分叉是确保以可访问的方式实现和谐的一种方式。 如果在大多数网络不认为这是个好主意的情况下推动更改,则很可能会分叉比特币,并且通过市场发现和挖矿哈希率转移到比特币,该链将很快被视为真正的链新链。

共识使参与比特币的任何人都能够直接反对,同时仍然允许网络参与者通过几个明确的指标来表明他们的偏好。 例如,哈希率、网络活动、节点数量,甚至分叉链的市场价格都有助于清楚地了解比特币到底是什么。 值得庆幸的是,为该项目贡献时间和精力的开发人员似乎对共识的重要性有着深刻的理解,因此所有以某种方式修改比特币的提议都经过了许多步骤,以确保硬分叉导致混淆的风险极低。

比特币分叉时价值从何而来?

与比特币分叉相关的硬币价值是通过市场发现和非常纯粹的投机定价的。 如果相信该项目有任何有意义的未来或以人们认为是个好主意的方式解决问题;自然,价格将开始反映这一点。 另一方面,如果对分叉缺乏信心,相反的情况会很快发生;它甚至可能无法实现任何有意义的交易所列表。

如果你对比特币感兴趣,分叉是一件令人兴奋的探索。 虽然其中许多还没有达到成熟的状态,但它确实有助于更好地展示共识是如何成为比特币背后的驱动力,以及推动比特币成为可能的最佳状态的不可思议的事情。

将新挖掘的文章直接发送到您的收件箱!
没有垃圾邮件,小指承诺!

What Happens When Bitcoin Forks?

profile pic
gingerbreadfork
·
5 min read

It's not always clear what forks could mean for you as a Bitcoin holder.

···

Bitcoin forks are often mentioned in the crypto space but less often explained. So while you may be aware that sometimes bitcoin does get forked, it's not always clear what this could mean for you as a bitcoin holder or someone looking to get involved in cryptocurrency.

Hard vs. Soft Fork

Hard forks and soft forks are pretty similar except for a couple of crucial things. Firstly, soft forks are essentially a form of software upgrade and shouldn't result in a chain split where two separate chains can emerge. On the other hand, hard forks result in a chain split as they require changes that would otherwise break the chain; however, this may often just be a necessary byproduct. Unless there is an active community looking to maintain and support the other chain for some reason, it is likely to die off relatively quickly.

Contentious Hard Forks

Contentious hard forks occur where a strong disagreement about the path forward or some other specific issues is a reality that can sometimes occur. Bitcoin cash is an example of a contentious hard fork. Created in response to the bitcoin SegWit upgrade, bitcoin cash attempts to take a different path instead of SegWit opting to favor block size increases.

What Should I Do When Bitcoin Forks?

In most cases, bitcoin forks don't typically require any action as a general user. However, if you are operating mining equipment or running a node, you may be required to update the software you are using to ensure you follow the path for which you agree. Changes to the bitcoin network tend to move slowly, ensuring consensus and that there is unlikely to be any confusion when a fork occurs. Provided you pay a little attention to bitcoin news, forks should result in minimal concerns on your end, even as a miner or node operator.

Source Code Forks

Sometimes the focus can be on the bitcoin implementation and surrounding code when considering forking bitcoin, primarily with the goal of starting an unrelated project. An easy example of this is Litecoin, which was a fork of the bitcoin core client codebase originally that was then modified to fit an alternative vision.

Codebase forks don't have to involve the current blockchain and can simply be a way to start a new project while leveraging some of the existing work. Furthermore, as bitcoin is an open-source project, anyone is free to create their own version of bitcoin and use the existing codebase released under the MIT license, one of the most permissive licenses around.

Forks that don't involve the current state of the bitcoin blockchain are forks that you wouldn't generally be able to claim unless there's a secondary approach to airdropping coins to existing bitcoin holders. Sometimes a snapshot may occur if wallet addresses use the same format to then go on to airdrop coins to those addresses with balances, but this is purely up to the developers of any new project.

How to Collect Bitcoin Forks?

If there is a contentious fork, or a new project using a snapshot to airdrop tokens to existing wallet addresses on a new network, you may wonder how to claim these coins. However, there isn't an easy answer to this question as the format for dealing with this can vary, and there are some serious risks to consider whenever you want to claim forked coins.

In some cases, you will be required to provide your private key when accessing coins from a bitcoin fork, which is always something to take extremely seriously. However, you should never even remotely consider doing this unless you are 100% confident in both the source of the wallet or other software and the project's legitimacy. So if you are considering looking to claim some forked bitcoin, it's almost certainly best to take a wait-and-see approach before jumping in to see what the consensus is in terms of how legitimate things are with the project.

Bitcoin has had an enormous number of forks throughout time. Many of these forks don't even reach the launch stage or maintain anything more than the slightest short-term interest. So, in a lot of situations, you'd have been better off waiting and seeing if the project survived beyond launch before considering to get involved at all. Unfortunately, many bitcoin forks attempt to do little more than cash in on the bitcoin name with less than honorable intentions.

How Forks Occur in Bitcoin?

Bitcoin forks occur as a byproduct of the bitcoin blockchain having no central authority. Consensus helps drive the bitcoin network forward, and forks are a way to ensure harmony is achieved in an accessible way. If a change was to be pushed through without the majority of the network thinking it was a good idea, it's very likely bitcoin would be forked, and that chain would be considered the real chain rather quickly via market discovery and mining hash rate shifting to the new chain.

Consensus gives anyone participating in bitcoin the ability to disagree straightforwardly while still allowing network participants to show their preferences with several clear metrics. For example, hash rate, network activity, node count, and even the market price of forked chains all help show a clear picture of what exactly bitcoin is. Thankfully, the developers that contribute their time and effort to the project seem to have a strong understanding of the importance of consensus, so all proposals to modify bitcoin in some way go through numerous steps to ensure the risk of hard forks that result in confusion are extremely low.

Where Does the Value Come from When Bitcoin Forks?

The value of coins associated with a bitcoin fork are priced through market discovery and very pure speculation. If there is faith that the project has any meaningful future or solves a problem in a way people think is a good idea; naturally, the price will begin to reflect that. On the other hand, if there is little faith in the fork, the opposite will occur quite quickly; it may not even achieve any meaningful exchange listings.

If you're interested in bitcoin, forks are an exciting thing to explore. While many of them don't reach a state of maturity, it does help to better showcase how consensus is a driving force behind bitcoin and an incredible thing for pushing bitcoin to be the best it can possibly be.

Get freshly mined articles straight to your inbox!
No spam, pinky promise!