以太坊基础

profile pic
gingerbreadfork
·
1 min read

了解为什么以太坊是世界上最大的加密货币之一,以及为什么它围绕它建立了如此令人难以置信的生态系统。

···

以太坊是最大的加密货币项目之一。 它围绕自身发展了一个由用户和项目组成的庞大社区,成为一个值得探索的迷人事物。 让我们深入研究这种已建立的加密货币的基础知识,并找出为什么这么多人选择在以太坊上进行构建。

什么是以太坊?

以太坊于 2015 年 7 月推出,旨在成为一个可编程的区块链,而不是专注于支付的加密货币。 虽然您可以将一些加密货币视为专注于货币方面,但以太坊的方向略有不同。 虽然您可以使用以太坊作为交换价值的手段进行交易,但更多地关注创建可以利用网络的应用程序;这些被称为去中心化应用程序。

以太坊作为 工作量证明 区块链推出;这意味着矿工被用来帮助保护网络。 然而,随着向以太坊 2.0 的预期过渡,情况将不再如此。 我们的目标是移动到 验证的股份 ,如果没有需要矿工工作的解决方案,而是让人们的股份他们甲醚在网络上验证交易。

以太坊的核心是一个区块链网络,它利用去中心化的公共分类账来验证和记录交易,但由于以太坊工作方式的一些关键差异,更多的可能性是可能的。

智能联系人 & Solidity

如果您曾经在 LocalCoinSwap 上交易过以太坊或其他基于以太坊的代币,例如 DAI,那么您在使用托管系统时已经与智能合约进行了交互。 以太坊支持一种名为 Solidity 的编程语言,可用于创建复杂的数字合约,从而在网络上实现令人印象深刻的功能。 Solidity 与 JavaScript(现代网络上最常用的编程语言)有一些语法相似之处;然而,它们绝不是可以互换的。

智能合约构成了以太坊的可编程部分,并对吸引到以太坊的项目类型产生了重大影响。 Uniswap 等项目利用智能合约创建了去中心化金融 (DeFi) 和 dapps 形式,这些形式变得非常流行。

去中心化应用

Dapps(去中心化应用程序)是以太坊生态系统的重要组成部分,并且只会随着新项目的不断启动而增加。 虽然在项目的早期,以太坊可以说是最著名的区块链,它允许轻松创建可以使用现有网络使用的代币。 即使这仍然很普遍,但更多的注意力正在转向 dapps 的发展。

顾名思义,Dapps 是去中心化的。 这种去中心化是通过它们在以太坊网络上运行而实现的,该网络由于世界各地的广泛参与者而分布。 使用智能合约,可以创建可以以各种方式交互并使用各种逻辑的以太坊帐户,可以围绕此构建完整的 dapp。 虽然智能合约可能非常复杂,但您可以将它们分解为一个关键点;通过正确的输入,可以保证一定的输出。 使用智能合约甚至可以让一个部署另一个。 凭借以太坊区块链的公共性质,您可以尝试参与部署在网络上的任何智能合约;但是,除了编码到合同本身的内容之外,您不能保证任何特定的结果。

智能合约允许去信任交换、有条件支付等等。 但是,它们确实有其局限性。 他们无法访问有关区块链之外事件的数据,这导致了创建区块链预言机来解决这个问题的挑战。 虽然这种限制对于某些用途来说可能是个问题,但它确保智能合约在默认情况下受到保护,不会像链上活动一样依赖第三方链下数据源。 然而,这有点超出了本文的范围,但如果您有兴趣,这仍然是一个值得探索的话题。

什么是以太坊钱包?

如果您以前从未使用过加密货币,那么钱包的概念一开始可能看起来很奇怪,但您会很快掌握经验。 就像现实世界中的钱包一样,你的以太坊钱包可以帮助你跟踪和存储价值,但它有一些关键的区别。

简化后,以太坊钱包在实践中涉及到你的以太坊账户的公钥和私钥。 使用公钥,您可以接收资金;除了您公开共享此地址的隐私问题之外,没有任何伤害。 没有人可以仅访问您的公钥就从您那里夺走您的以太坊,因此得名。 另一方面,您的私钥恰恰相反。 您的私钥允许您签署交易。 您的私钥使您能够证明对以太坊区块链上的以太币或代币的所有权,并自由地与它们进行交易。 如果您丢失了私钥或无法访问它,您将无法再访问存储在您钱包中的资金,应将其视为丢失。

就加密货币而言,并非所有类型的钱包都是平等的,了解这一点很重要。 一些钱包(例如中心化交易所的钱包)是托管钱包,当您存入(向他们发送以太币)时,它们会保管您的以太坊。 这些细节很重要,因为如果您无法访问私钥,则无法控制您的以太币。 如果您使用的平台脱机、阻止您的帐户或任何其他使您无法访问该钱包的行为,则将无法恢复,因为您无法真正访问这些资金。 虽然这对于较小的交易可能与您无关,但它对于理解至关重要。

假设您使用 LocalCoinSwap 来存储您的以太坊。 在这种情况下,您可以导出您的私钥,让您完全控制您的以太币,因为您的私钥是使用您的密码生成的,我们无权访问,只有您可以访问您的资金;这称为非托管钱包。

通常,当提到钱包时,它会引用允许您管理以太坊帐户的网站或其他应用程序(例如手机上的移动钱包)。 如果您可以使用某个软件生成以太坊账户,您通常会称其为钱包。 你的以太坊账户在技术上不需要钱包;它只是让使用你的以太坊更加实用。 以太坊钱包的一些流行示例包括 MetaMaskMyEtherWalletMyCrypto,仅举几个最受欢迎的选项。

了解以太坊上的 Gas

对于新的以太坊用户来说,最常见的混淆点之一是 gas,但它并不像乍一看那么复杂,即使它有一个不寻常的名字。 在以太坊网络上进行交易需要使用 Gas。 发送以太坊、代币、与智能合约交互都没有关系;所有这些动作都需要gas。 Gas 以较小的以太坊单位 gwei 定价,本质上只是使用以太坊支付交易的一种方式。

无论您是尝试使用某些代币还是使用以太本身执行交易,您仍然需要在您的帐户中使用以太币才能确认您的交易。 您需要支付的汽油量主要取决于供求关系。 网络越拥挤或越活跃,您可能需要为快速或成功确认支付更高的费用。 不同类型的动作将需要不同数量的气体来执行。 例如,发送以太币可能会花费一定数量的 gwei,而与智能合约交互会花费更多;这是由于处理交易所需的资源取决于您尝试执行的操作。

您可以通过查看 Etherscan Gas Tracker 找到当前交易成本的合理估计。 它们包括一些常见交易类型的示例以及您可以预期支付的当前费率。 在发送重要交易时要小心使用最低的 gas 估计值;您会发现,如果您将 Gas 价格设置得太低,如果网络活动增加,您的交易可能无法确认或需要很长时间。 ETH 加油站是另一个极好的天然气估算资源。

了解以太坊的最佳方式

当谈到加密货币时,阅读是获得对基本原理的基本理解的好方法。 但是,如果您真的想探索以太坊,最好的方法就是使用它进行探索。 购买少量以太坊 并进行实验,不仅可以帮助您了解事物的运作方式,还可以让您亲自体验。

如果您觉得这很有趣,请务必查看我们的其他一些文章,以了解有关以太坊或加密货币其他方面的更多信息。

将新挖掘的文章直接发送到您的收件箱!
没有垃圾邮件,小指承诺!

Ethereum Basics

profile pic
gingerbreadfork
·
6 min read

Find out why Ethereum is one of the biggest cryptocurrencies in the world and why it's built such an incredible ecosystem around it.

···

Ethereum is one of the largest cryptocurrency projects. It has grown a massive community of both users and projects around itself, becoming a fascinating thing to explore. Let's delve into the basics of this established cryptocurrency and find out why so many people are choosing to build on ethereum.

What is Ethereum?

Ethereum launched in July of 2015, intending to become a programmable blockchain rather than a cryptocurrency focused on payments. While you can look at some cryptocurrencies as focused on the currency aspect, ethereum takes that in a slightly different direction. While you can transact using ethereum as a means to exchange value, there's a lot more focus on creating applications that can take advantage of the network; these are called decentralized applications.

Ethereum launched as a proof-of-work blockchain; this means that miners are used to help secure the network. However, with the intended transition to ethereum 2.0, this will no longer be the case. The goal is to move to a proof-of-stake solution that operates without the need for miners but instead allows people to stake their ether to validate transactions on the network.

At its core, ethereum is a blockchain network that utilizes a decentralized public ledger to verify and record transactions, but thanks to some key differences in how ethereum works, a lot more is possible.

Smart Contacts & Solidity

If you've ever traded ethereum or other ethereum based tokens such as DAI on LocalCoinSwap, you've already interacted with a smart contract when using the escrow system. Ethereum supports a programming language called Solidity, which can be used to create complex digital contracts that allow for impressive functionality on the network. Solidity has some syntax similarities with JavaScript (the most common programming language used on the modern web); however, they are by no means interchangeable.

Smart contracts form the programmable part of ethereum and have had a strong influence on the types of projects attracted to ethereum. Projects like Uniswap have leveraged smart contracts to create forms of decentralized finance (DeFi) and dapps that are becoming incredibly popular.

Decentralized Applications

Dapps (decentralized applications) are a large part of the ethereum ecosystem and are only increasing with new projects launching all the time. While in the earlier days of the project, ethereum was arguably best known for being a blockchain that allowed for the easy creation of tokens that could be utilized using the existing network. Even with that still being common, far more attention is shifting towards the developments of dapps.

Dapps, as the name suggests, are decentralized. This decentralization is made possible by them running on the ethereum network which is distributed thanks to the vast range of participants across the world. Using smart contracts, ethereum accounts that can be interacted with in various ways and using various logic can be created, around this fully dapps can be built. While smart contracts can be incredibly complex, you can break them down to a key point; with the right inputs, a certain output can be guaranteed. Using smart contracts it's even possible to have one deploy another. With the public nature of the ethereum blockchain, you could attempt to engage with any smart contract you find deployed on the network; however, you are not guaranteed any particular outcome other than what is coded into the contract itself.

Smart contracts allow for trustless exchange, conditional payments, and so much more. However, they do have their limits. They cannot access data about events outside of the blockchain, which has led to the challenge of creating blockchain oracles to solve this problem. While this limitation can be a problem for some uses, it ensures smart contracts are by default protected from relying on third-party data sources off-chain that can't be trusted in the same way as on-chain activity. However, this is somewhat outside of the scope of this article, nonetheless a topic worth exploring if you are interested.

What is an Ethereum Wallet?

If you've never used a cryptocurrency before, the concept of a wallet may seem odd at first, but it's something that you'll quickly get the hang of with experience. Like a wallet in the real world, your ethereum wallet helps you track and store value, but it has some key differences.

When simplified, an ethereum wallet, in practice, involves both a public key and a private key for your ethereum account. Using the public key, you can receive funds; there’s no harm outside of the privacy concerns of you publicly sharing this address. No one can take your ethereum from you with only access to your public key, hence the name. On the other hand, your private key is very much the opposite. Your private key allows you to sign transactions. Your private key gives you the power to prove ownership of ether or tokens on the ethereum blockchain and perform transactions with them freely. If you lose your private key or access to it, you will no longer be able to access the funds stored in your wallet and should consider it lost.

Not all types of wallets are equal when it comes to cryptocurrency, which is important to understand. Some wallets (such as those on centralized exchanges) are managed wallets, and they take custody of your ethereum when you deposit (send ether to them). These specifics are important because if you don't have access to the private key, you don't control your ether. If the platform you are using went offline, blocked your account, or anything else that removed access from you to that wallet, it would be unrecoverable as you don't have true access to those funds. While this may not concern you for smaller transactions, it is something essential in understanding.

Suppose you use LocalCoinSwap to store your ethereum. In that case, you can export your private key, giving you complete control of your ether, as your private key is generated using your password, which we don't have access to, only you have access to your funds; this is called a non-custodial wallet.

Typically when referring to a wallet, it will be referencing websites or other applications (such as a mobile wallet on your phone) that allow you to manage your ethereum account. If you can generate an ethereum account using a piece of software, you would generally call this a wallet. Your ethereum account does not technically require a wallet; it just makes using your ethereum a lot more practical. Some popular examples of ethereum wallets include MetaMask, MyEtherWallet, MyCrypto, just to name a few of the most popular options.

Understanding Gas on Ethereum

One of the most common points of confusion for new ethereum users is gas, but it's not as complicated as it may seem at first glance, even though it has an unusual name. Gas is required to conduct transactions on the ethereum network. It doesn't matter if you are sending ethereum, tokens, interacting with a smart contract; all of these actions require gas. Priced in a smaller unit of ethereum called gwei, gas is, in essence, just a way of paying for transactions using ethereum.

Whether you are trying to perform a transaction with some tokens or with ether itself, you'll still require ethereum in your account to be able to get your transaction confirmed. The amount of gas you'll be required to pay is primarily based on supply and demand. The more congested or active the network is, likely the higher you'll need to pay for fast or successful confirmation. Different types of actions will require different amounts of gas to perform. For example, sending ether may cost a certain amount of gwei, while interacting with a smart contract will cost more; this is due to the resources required to process your transaction depending on what you are trying to do.

You can find reasonable estimates of current transaction costs by checking out the Etherscan Gas Tracker. They include a few examples of common transaction types and the current rate you can expect to pay. When sending important transactions to be careful when using the lowest gas estimates; you can find that your transaction may fail to confirm or take a long time if the network activity increases if you set your gas price too low. ETH Gas Station is another excellent resource for gas estimates.

The Best Way to Learn About Ethereum

When it comes to cryptocurrencies, reading is a great way to gain a foundational understanding of the fundamentals. However, if you really want to explore ethereum, the best way can be to explore using it. Buying a small amount of ethereum and experimenting can help you not just understand how things work but allow you to experience it for yourself.

If you found this interesting, be sure to check out some of our other articles to learn more about ethereum or other aspects of cryptocurrency.

Get freshly mined articles straight to your inbox!
No spam, pinky promise!