什么时候应该使用区块链?

profile pic
gingerbreadfork
·
1 min read

区块链有一系列有趣的用例,找出下一步可以从哪里开始看到区块链。

···

区块链是一个在大多数人的词汇中相对较新的词,每天都有更多人第一次听到它。 然而,虽然区块链的基础知识相当容易掌握,但考虑区块链技术的实际用例和应用并不总是那么容易。

当您考虑使用区块链时,您可能会想到比特币,但围绕区块链用例仍有很多潜力可供探索。 了解区块链如何以一系列奇怪而有趣的方式改善您未来的生活。

什么是公共区块链?

使用公共区块链时,您正在与公开可见的开放网络进行交互。 无论您是下载区块链、发送交易还是以其他方式参与网络。 该信息至少以某种方式分发和公开。 公共区块链最著名的例子是比特币。 虽然许多人认为比特币是匿名的,但归根结底是你如何选择使用它而只承诺使用假名。 使用公共区块链时,您的交易或地址或智能合约之间的其他交互很常见,任何想要查看的人都可以看到。

哪些信息将您与您的钱包地址或其他活动联系起来,这在很大程度上取决于您如何做买卖加密货币之类的事情。 使用强制执行严格 KYC 要求的交易所,您应该假设您用于从该帐户发送或接收加密的地址可能已知由您个人控制。 您可以更匿名地交易加密货币的方法之一是通过 P2P 交易。

什么是私有区块链?

另一方面,私有区块链更多地与商业环境和内部区块链相关联,甚至可能不会暴露于外部世界。 虽然选择整合私有区块链的公司在他们的“围墙花园”中管理区块链可能面临的风险较小,但缺点是他们失去了公共区块链的许多积极方面。 在选择有限的访问权限的区块链时,可以将分散,访问,无信任和更多潜在的区块链益处除外。 在许多情况下很容易争辩说,这些类型的系统更接近于数据库而不是区块链。

然而,私有或半公有区块链的世界可能会在未来发展,许多项目希望通过企业区块链解决方案瞄准企业空间。

许可区块链的问题

与比特币等公共区块链不同,许可区块链与私有区块链有显着重叠。 访问控制层内置于协议中或有时在节点级别,用于管理使用该技术或访问包含的数据的人可用的不同访问级别。 许可区块链是您在企业区块链使用中经常会看到的东西。

虽然公共分布式账本对许多敏感数据项目都有意义。 有时,这是将区块链集成到特定专业环境中的唯一实用方法。 但是,与私有区块链一样,在公共区块链上拥有经过许可的区块链会失去许多好处。 这些通常只在供应链管理或其他主要在企业内部处理私人数据的领域才有意义。

房地产中的区块链

正如许多关于资产和其他商品和服务的协议可以更好地适应现代社会一样,房地产也可以。 房地产涉及的交易包括财产中有价值资产的重大转移以及对这些资产的支付。 因此,房地产交易期间的法律费用可能相当可观。

尽管如此,在现代技术的帮助下,区块链应用程序可以通过减少第三方参与这些交易,同时减少房地产领域对交易对手信任的要求来提供帮助。

区块链供应链管理

将区块链与供应链相结合具有巨大的潜力。 可以为公司和消费者跟踪和监控一系列指标。 可以通过更好地跟踪和监控供应链来提高效率,以发现潜在问题或因在不太明显的瓶颈处效率低下而造成的损失。 与此同时,产品认证、认证验证和其他类型的数据可以以允许任何人审计和审查的方式公开提供,从而增加对消费者或客户方面的信任。

区块链在医疗保健中的应用

在一些国家,药物的真实性是一个大问题。 对于那些希望购买药物和各种药物来管理健康状况的人来说,某些地区的风险非常高。 能够根据您手中的包裹检查区块链上的数据并让药店这样做可以降低这些风险,同时有助于阻止那些标记盗版或假药的人。

医疗保健可能从区块链技术中受益的另一种方式是信息存储。 诸如患者数据、治疗历史和血型之类的重要记录可以存储在区块链上,或者可以根据数据进行验证。 确保为您提供护理的人提供准确的数据对于取得积极成果至关重要,也许在未来,我们将看到区块链满足更多这种必要性。 虽然医疗行业适应其基本流程的速度通常较慢,但潜在的成本节约措施往往脱颖而出。 对于医疗保健行业而言,在提高安全性的同时节省存储患者数据的资金是采用区块链的极好动力。

区块链合规

虽然这听起来像是监视,而且也有这种潜力,但在某些方面,合规在适当的情况下也可以成为一种社会福利。 例如,食品安全是一个重要的地方,可以通过区块链更好地管理验证和监控合规性。 确信当地杂货店货架上的食物受到仔细监控以更好地预防食源性疾病,这可能是许多人认为有利的。

合规可能意味着很多事情;它可能涉及更好地跟踪产品测试结果和其他可能影响更敏感产品的关键监管因素。 区块链还可以帮助合规官员更好地跟踪复杂的监管指南和流程。

链上治理和投票

区块链的公共和去信任潜力使它们成为治理和投票的潜在候选人。 使用以太坊区块链对重要问题进行投票是我们甚至在 LocalCoinSwap 所做的事情。 一些项目直接将治理添加到协议中,例如 Maker 协议使用 MKR 代币来调整 Dai 稳定币的策略。 Polkadot 和 Kusama 还允许社区投票并控制其协议的演变。 一些项目一直在探索现实世界选举中的去中心化投票。 许多围绕投票和选举的区块链用例潜力的研究也在进行,显示出学术界对该主题的兴趣。

虽然在现实世界中完全去中心化的政府还有很长的路要走,但看到区块链和加密货币项目内部的激励投票是多么有效是很有趣的。 例如,假设您必须拥有受投票结果影响的资产。 在这种情况下,你会被激励明智地投票,在艰难的决定中发挥作用时,只要选民彻底了解这些问题,就会变得非常有价值。

区块链能否使物联网 (IoT) 应用受益?

“物联网”运动正在慢慢渗透到我们的许多家庭中。 从空调、灯泡到冰箱,一切都可以启用远程功能。 虽然人们对这个话题的看法从兴奋到害怕不等,但似乎不会很快放缓。

随着越来越多的设备进入消费者手中,这些设备不仅需要与用户互动,而且需要与管理外部功能和他们的连接需求的公司互动的方式也越来越多,他们的安全需求也在增加。 使用区块链可以降低设备可用信息被篡改的风险,并可能分散这些设备产生的一些数据。

关于物联网生态系统的安全性,访问也是一个问题,尤其是在您的私人和个人空间中的设备。 验证数据可以存储,许多区块链使用的加密可以帮助减少物联网设备的潜在安全问题。 区块链还可以存储这些设备使用的数据,以降低设备制造商所需的成本和基础设施,由于相关成本较低,可能会导致更长时间的售后支持。

在考虑物联网时,还需要考虑微交易。 使用区块链技术的微交易远比使用传统方式转移资金更有效,尤其是当设备之间可能只需要转移少量价值时。 拥有这种快速交易价值的能力,设备不仅可以相互交互,还可以与智能合约、公共空间中的设备用户交互,甚至可以访问可能需要少量费用的外部来源的数据。

区块链上的智能合约

处理合同可能会非常不舒服,因此任何可以改善体验的措施不仅可以让您感到更安全,而且还可以降低相关成本和对信任的要求。 确保安排中的交易对手阻止交易结束可能会带来压力,尤其是在交易范围更广的情况下。

就像使用托管进行点对点交易一样,区块链上的智能合约可以帮助验证方面,甚至可以以去信任的方式处理多方之间的交易。 虽然您可能难以在某些法院提交区块链证据,但由于越来越多的案件开始需要了解分布式账本和区块链技术,因此法律系统正在迅速适应这种情况。

区块链对慈善事业意味着什么?

向慈善基金会和项目捐款可能是一件了不起的事情。 但是,在过去,通常很难确信您的钱最初是否用于您的付出。 在某些情况下,可以提高参与区块链技术的慈善机构的透明度。 其他潜在的途径包括奖励成就或里程碑,一旦特定的现实世界目标顺利实现,使用智能合约释放资金。

慈善是多年来没有显着变化的东西。 也许区块链可以帮助慈善机构更加透明,并鼓励人们投资于人道主义事业,因为它增加了透明度。

保险中的区块链

区块链在保险行业的应用具有广阔的潜力。 保险公司可以降低成本、简化流程并为客户提供更透明的理赔流程。

交易也可以简化,帮助更快地解决索赔。 保险流程的许多部分涉及大量人工干预。 这些重复性和手动任务通常可以通过区块链进行改进,为保险业提供许多潜在的用例供未来考虑。

区块链版税支付

为您的内容付费是在线和离线内容创建者之间日益激烈的斗争。 即使您有一项交易,您有权获得以某种方式转售的媒体的版税,您也必须相信所展示的数字和支付的金额是准确的。 这些问题可以通过使用区块链技术来减少。

一旦满足某些条件,例如下载或在托管您的内容的平台上进行的其他购买,付款甚至可以使用智能合约自动发送。

基于区块链的社交媒体 & 化社交网络

人们越来越担心社交媒体巨头利用从用户那里收集的数据以及他们如何利用这些数据获利。 因此,许多项目正在寻找解决方案,通过付费用户参与或使用付费用户观看广告等方法来分散用户与社交媒体平台之间的这种联系。

如何解决与社交媒体相关的问题有许多不同的方法。 随着这些项目在未来更加成熟,探索将是一件令人兴奋的事情。 他们会在未来与 Facebook 和其他公司竞争吗? 这很难说,但它应该会为社交媒体的未来带来一些有趣的发展。

NFTs & 在区块链上数字化资产

将资产数字化或代币化的一个例子是稳定币,它可以在不直接接触资产的情况下访问更传统的资产,如美元。 虽然不同的稳定币具有不同程度的信任度,有些像 USDT 一样更加中心化,但其他像 DAI 的中心化程度较低,并且本身就可以成为一个有趣的话题。

代币化资产的另一个例子是 NFT。 虽然很容易将区块链游戏和 CryptoKitties 或 Axie Infinity 等收藏品视为游戏和新奇事物,但它们显示了不可替代代币 (NFT) 的令人兴奋的潜力。 与利用 ERC-20 令牌标准的以太坊网络上的大多数令牌不同,相反,以太坊上的不可替代令牌通常使用 ERC-721 或 ERC-1155 标准。

去中心化金融 (DeFi)

银行、贷款、借贷以及更多传统金融正在被探索并转变为基于区块链的协议和 dApp。 Uniswap、自动做市商协议 (AMM) 等项目以及 DeFi 领域中出现的许多其他有趣项目为旧的金融问题提供了现代解决方案。 正如我们所知,随着时间的推移,这一运动可能会撼动银行业和整个世界。 这将发生多快,以何种形式发生,只有时间会告诉我们。

然而,就目前而言,就可以实现的目标而言,加密货币领域内的兴奋正在增长,而就 DeFi 而言,每天都在发生着如此多的事情。 减少对银行和法定货币的依赖不仅可以使人们能够更多地管理自己的资金,还可以让处于困境的地区的人们可以使用这些东西来为自己提供我们许多人认为理所当然的基本服务。 您参与财务的中间人和中介机构越少,您就越有能力控制它。

区块链可以塑造许多行业以及我们在迈向未来时如何与世界互动。 探索区块链用例是理解为什么这么多人对区块链的创新可能性感到兴奋的绝佳方式。

将新挖掘的文章直接发送到您的收件箱!
没有垃圾邮件,小指承诺!

When Should You Use a Blockchain?

profile pic
gingerbreadfork
·
9 min read

Blockchains have a range of intriguing use cases, find out where you could start seeing blockchain next.

···

Blockchain is a word that is relatively new in most people's vocabularies, with more people every day hearing it for the first time. However, while the basics of blockchains can be reasonably easy to grasp, it's not always as easy to think of real-world use cases and applications for blockchain technology.

While you may think of bitcoin when you think about using blockchain, there's a world of potential to be explored surrounding blockchain use cases. Find out how blockchain could improve your life in the future in a range of strange and intriguing ways.

What are Public Blockchains?

When using a public blockchain, you are interacting with a publicly visible open network. Whether you download the blockchain, send a transaction, or otherwise participate in the network. This information is distributed and public in at least some fashion. The most well-known example of a public blockchain is bitcoin. While many assume that bitcoin is anonymous, it comes down instead to how you choose to use it with only the promise of pseudonymity. When using a public blockchain, it's common for your transactions or other interactions between addresses or smart contracts to be visible to anyone wanting to look.

What information connects you to your wallet address or other activity depends significantly on how you do things like buying and selling cryptocurrency. Using an exchange that enforces rigorous KYC requirements, you should assume that addresses you use to send or receive crypto from this account are potentially known to be controlled by you personally. One of the ways you can trade cryptocurrency with more anonymity is through P2P trading.

What are Private Blockchains?

On the other hand, private blockchains are more associated with business environments and in-house blockchains that may not even be exposed to the outside world. While companies opting to integrate private blockchains may face less risk with managing a blockchain inside their "walled garden," the downside is they lose many of the positive aspects of public blockchains. Decentralization, access, trustlessness, and more potential blockchain benefits are removed when opting for a blockchain that deals with restricted access. It's easy to argue in many cases that these types of systems are closer to resembling a database than they are a blockchain.

However, the world of private or semi-public blockchains may evolve in the future, with many projects looking to target the enterprise space with enterprise blockchain solutions.

The Problem with Permissioned Blockchains

Unlike public blockchains such as bitcoin, permissioned blockchains overlap significantly with private blockchains. An access control layer is built into the protocol or sometimes at the node level that manages different access levels available to those using the technology or accessing the data contained. Permissioned blockchains are something that you will often see in enterprise blockchain use.

While a public distributed ledger makes sense for many projects for sensitive data. Sometimes, this is the only practical way to integrate blockchain in a specific professional setting. However, like private blockchains, you lose many benefits by having a permissioned blockchain over a public blockchain. These typically only make sense in supply chain management or other areas where primarily private data is being dealt with inside a business.

Blockchain in Real Estate

Just as many forms of agreements over assets and other goods and services can be better optimized for the modern age, so can real estate. Real estate involves transactions including significant transfers of valuable assets in property and the payment for these assets. As a result, legal expenses during real estate dealings can be pretty substantial.

Still, with the help of modern technology, blockchain applications can assist by providing less third-party involvement in these transactions while reducing the requirement for counterparty trust in the real estate world.

Blockchain Supply Chain Management

There is enormous potential for combining blockchains with supply chains. A range of metrics can be tracked and monitored both for companies and consumers. Efficiency can be increased by better tracking and monitoring supply chains for potential issues or losses caused by inefficiency at less apparent bottlenecks. At the same time, authentication of products, verification of certifications, and other types of data can be provided publically in ways that can allow for auditing and review by anyone, increasing trust on the consumer or customer side of the equation.

Blockchain Applications in Healthcare

The authenticity of medications in some countries is a huge issue. Some regions are significantly high risk for those looking to purchase drugs and various medicines to manage health conditions. Being able to check data on a blockchain against a package in your hand and for pharmacies to do the same can reduce these risks while helping to hinder those marking bootleg or fake medications.

Another way that healthcare can potentially benefit from blockchain technology is the storage of information. Vital records like patient data, treatment history, and blood types could be stored or verifiable against data on a blockchain. Ensuring data is accurate to those providing you care is essential to positive outcomes, and perhaps in the future, we will see more of this necessity being fulfilled by blockchains. While the medical industry can often be slower to adapt its underlying processes, potential cost-saving measures often stand out. For the healthcare industry, saving funds on storing patient data while increasing security is an excellent incentive to adopt blockchain.

Blockchain Compliance

While this sounds like surveillance, and there is potential for that too, in some ways, compliance can also be a social good in the proper context. For example, food safety is one significant place where verifying and monitoring compliance can potentially be better managed with blockchain. Being confident the food on your local grocery store shelves was monitored carefully to better protect against foodborne illnesses is likely something that many people would consider favorable.

Compliance can mean many things; it could involve better tracking of product testing outcomes and other critical regulatory factors that can come into play with more sensitive products. Blockchain can also assist compliance officers in better keeping track of complex regulatory guidelines and processes.

On-Chain Governance and Voting

The public and trustless potential for blockchains make them a great potential candidate for both governance and voting. Using the ethereum blockchain to vote on important issues is something we even do here at LocalCoinSwap. Some projects add governance directly into the protocol, such as the Maker Protocol using MKR tokens to adjust policies for the Dai stablecoin. Polkadot and Kusama also allow the community to vote on and control the evolution of their protocols. Some projects have been exploring decentralized voting in real-world elections. Many studies of the potential for blockchain use cases surrounding voting and elections have also been occurring, showing academic interest in the subject.

While fully decentralizing governments in the real world has a very long way to go, it's interesting to see how effective incentivized voting inside of blockchain and cryptocurrency projects can be. For example, suppose you have to own assets affected by the outcome of the vote. In that case, you are incentivized to vote wisely, making it quite valuable when difficult decisions are in play, provided voters thoroughly understand the issues.

Can Blockchain Benefit Internet of Things (IoT) Applications?

The "Internet of Things" movement is something that is slowly creeping into many of our homes. Everything from air conditioners, light bulbs to even fridges can have remote functionality enabled. While people's opinions on this topic vary from excited to fearful, this doesn't seem to be slowing down soon.

As more devices make their way into the hands of consumers, more and more the way these devices need to engage not just with the users but the companies that manage external functions and their needs to connect increases, so do their security needs. Using blockchain can reduce the risk of information available to devices being tampered with and potentially decentralize some of the data produced by these devices.

Regarding security in the IoT ecosystem, access is also a concern, especially with devices in your private and personal spaces. Verification data could be stored, and the encryption used by many blockchains can help reduce potential security issues for IoT devices. Blockchains can also store data used by these devices to reduce the costs and infrastructure required by device manufacturers, likely resulting in more extended periods of after-sale support due to lower associated costs.

There are also microtransactions to consider when thinking about the IoT. Microtransactions using blockchain technology can be far more effective than using traditional ways to transfer funds, especially when devices may only need to transfer tiny amounts of value between each other. Having this ability to transact value fast allows for devices to interact with not just each other but smart contracts, users of devices in public spaces, or even access data from external sources that may require a small fee.

Smart Contracts on the Blockchain

Dealing with contracts can be pretty uncomfortable, so anything that can be done to improve the experience can not just make you feel more secure but reduce the associated costs and requirements for trust as well. Ensuring that your counterparty in an arrangement holds up their end of the deal can be stressful, especially with more extensive exchanges.

Like using escrow to trade peer-to-peer, smart contracts on blockchain can help with verification aspects and even processes transactions among even multiple parties in a trustless fashion. While you may have difficulty submitting blockchain evidence in some courts, this is something that the legal system is adapting to quite quickly out of necessity as more cases are beginning to require an understanding of distributed ledger and blockchain technology.

What Does Blockchain Mean for Charity?

Donating to charitable foundations and projects can be a fantastic thing. However, in the past, it's often been hard to be confident your money was used for what you gave it for in the first place. Transparency for charities that engage with blockchain technology can be increased under certain circumstances. Other potential avenues include rewarding achievement or milestones using smart contracts to release funds once specific real-world goals have been agreeably attained.

Charity is something that hasn't significantly changed over the years. Perhaps blockchain could help charities be more transparent and encourage people to invest in humanitarian causes because of this increased clarity.

Blockchain in Insurance

Blockchain applications in the insurance industry have broad potential. Insurance companies can reduce costs, streamline processes, and provide a more transparent claims process for customers.

Transactions can also be simplified, helping claims be resolved quicker. Many parts of the insurance process involve a lot of manual intervention. These repetitive and manual tasks can often be improved via blockchain, providing the insurance industry with many potential use cases to consider in the future.

Blockchain Royalty Payments

Being paid for your content is a growing struggle among online and offline content creators. Even if you have a deal that entitles you to royalties for a piece of media that is being resold somehow, you have to trust that the numbers you are being shown and the amount you are paid is accurate. These issues can be reduced through the use of blockchain technology.

Payments can even be automated using smart contracts to send payments once certain conditions are met, such as a download taking place or other purchases made on the platform hosting your content.

Blockchain-Based Social Media & Decentralized Social Networks

There's growing concern regarding social media giants taking advantage of the data collected from users and how they use this data to profit. As a result, many projects are looking for solutions to decentralize this connection between users and the social media platform by paying users for engagement or using approaches like paying users who view ads.

There are many varied approaches to how the issues connected with social media are being tackled. It will be an exciting thing to explore as these projects mature more going into the future. Will they compete with Facebook and others down the road? It's impossible to say, but it should make for some interesting developments in the future of social media.

NFTs & Digitizing Assets on the Blockchain

One example of digitizing or tokenizing an asset is stablecoins, enabling more traditional assets like the USD to be accessed without directly engaging with the assets. While different stablecoins function with varying degrees of trust, and some are more centralized like USDT, others like DAI operate with less centralization and can make for an interesting topic in itself.

Another example of tokenized assets is NFTs. While it's easy to think of blockchain games and collectibles like CryptoKitties or Axie Infinity as games and novelties, they show the exciting potential of non-fungible tokens (NFTs). Unlike the majority of tokens on the ethereum network that take advantage of the ERC-20 token standard, instead, non-fungible tokens on ethereum typically use either the ERC-721 or ERC-1155 standard.

Decentralized Finance (DeFi)

Banking, lending, borrowing, and so much more of traditional finance is being explored and transitioned into blockchain-based protocols and dApps. Projects like Uniswap, an automated market maker protocol (AMM), and many other intriguing projects popping up in the DeFi realm produce modern solutions to old financial concerns. This movement can shake up the banking industry and the world as we know it over time. How quickly this will happen, and in what form, only time will tell.

However, for now, excitement is growing inside the cryptocurrency space in terms of what can be achieved, and when it comes to DeFi, so much is happening daily. Reduced dependence on banks and fiat could not just empower people to be more in charge of their funds but provide access to things those in struggling regions could use to provide themselves the essential services many of us take for granted. The fewer middlemen and intermediaries you have involved in your financials, the better equipped you are to control it.

Blockchains can shape many industries and how we interact with the world as we move into the future. Exploring blockchain use cases is a fantastic way to understand why so many people are excited about blockchain’s innovative possibilities.

Get freshly mined articles straight to your inbox!
No spam, pinky promise!